Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Seagull Decathlon

Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Seagull Decathlon

Old 03-13-2005, 09:20 AM
philg2005

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Seagull Decathlon

I have just finished building my first arf plane, a seagull decathlon, and ive noticed a few features that could be improved. First, the wheels are too small, i have switched the front wheels to much larger, rubber ones, but the rudder wheel is tiny, and has already snapped off whilst taxing! Does anyone have a design for a homemade rudder wheel assembly, as i have the two spare smaller wheels that came with the kit.
Also, the wheel axles keep getting loose when taxing ( i took the wheel spats off as i think they would be in the way for the first few landings), but would a bit of glue on the bolt prevent the wheels from falling off due to vibrations?

Any tips would be apreciated as i am new to rc flying.

Thanks
Old 03-13-2005, 11:29 AM
IronCross

Default RE: Seagull Decathlon

I found the tail wheel unit with the plane useless... Even if you get it to work the wire the wheel goes on is too soft and keeps bending.. I replaced the unit with a sullivan tail wheel unit with a 1" wheel... Works great... I also put in bigger wheels on the mains.. As for the wheels falling off ?.. I used Dubro axels and wheel collars on mine... No problems there.. On the wheel "spats", I glued a stip of 1/8 inch hardwood to the inside of the wheel pants. Then I slotted the bottom of the "spat" so it slipps over the axel snugly. Then used a small bolt and Tnut to attach the wheel pants to the landing gear.. You can tighten the axel up real good that way and the wheel pants (spats) go on and off real easy...