Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Great Planes Giant Ugly Stick

Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Great Planes Giant Ugly Stick

Old 11-07-2014, 09:04 AM
  #676  
superfli
My Feedback: (42)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 102
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I have the OS GT33 on mine and with the batteries in the nose and elevator and rudder servos in the rear it balances with no additional weight. The performance is excellent. It up in the air in no time. I fly it at half throttle. Engine reliability is also excellent.Easy starts and nice even idle. I run a 32/1 mix and I have this engined proped with a 18x8. Love the combination.


Superfli
Old 11-17-2014, 03:41 AM
  #677  
NM2K
Senior Member
My Feedback: (14)
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ringgold, GA
Posts: 11,488
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default

I've owned and flown a Zenoah G-38. It was long ago and back then, the G-38 was a good engine choice. Not so today, if you're buying a new engine for a new model. Leave the G-38 engines for somebody's museum collection. The G-26 is much lighter and just as powerful.


Ed/NM2K


Originally Posted by tlnibert View Post
Many years ago when we installed the nose wheels bearings inside the fuel tank compartment. I look the giant Stick over and I don't see any problems. I'm mounting the back wing and tail today, so I should be working on the engine soon. I don't know yet if I'm using a G-26 or G-38.
Tom
Old 11-17-2014, 07:39 PM
  #678  
Charlie P.
 
Charlie P.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Port Crane, NY
Posts: 5,117
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

Just got an e-mail that my Giant Stick is finally shipping from Tower. It will have a re-purposed G-26M on the nose.
Old 11-22-2014, 10:15 AM
  #679  
DMehalko
My Feedback: (42)
 
DMehalko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,472
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Charlie P. View Post
Just got an e-mail that my Giant Stick is finally shipping from Tower. It will have a re-purposed G-26M on the nose.

Congrats! They are way too much fun
Old 01-27-2015, 08:08 PM
  #680  
rossmick
Senior Member
 
rossmick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vail, AZ
Posts: 329
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Giant Stik Build



I thought I would add my assembly of the Great Planes Giant Stik. I read through this blog and found it very helpful and managed many of the suggestions.
Components I selected are; DA35 (new), JTec Pitts style muffler, 5" wheels, three LIFe batteries, Smart Fly power expander board - for battery backup, Smart Fly ignition system, 3 switches, HiTec servos, ElectroDynamics connectors.
Modifications are; Moved rudder and elevator servos forward under wing and adjusted servo tray to align with push rods - for balance with light weight DA 35, moved fuel tank to under wing position, all three batteries behind firewall, nose wheel moved behind firewall.
Photos:
1-2; assembled Stik
3-4; put checkerboard on bottom of wing for better position identification.
5-6; Switches
7-8; Fuel fill and DA 35
9; Internal equipment, notice slim wing servos for throttle and nose wheel steering beside tank on fuselage walls.
10; LiFe battery
11; Wing bag done by my wife.

Maiden flight today using JR XG11 radio and only took one click down and one click left. Trying different prop sizes, 19x8, 20x6 all seemed difficult to not roll at idle. Next flight will use 18x6 or 18x10, most likely better for breaking in the DA 35. Did not use flaps on maiden and will give it a few more landing to settle in to find the least power required to fly on. Landings were good today, but not grease jobs.

Thanks to all who have posted in advance.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	01.gif
Views:	576
Size:	219.3 KB
ID:	2068422   Click image for larger version

Name:	02.gif
Views:	541
Size:	222.9 KB
ID:	2068423   Click image for larger version

Name:	03.gif
Views:	532
Size:	221.7 KB
ID:	2068424   Click image for larger version

Name:	04.gif
Views:	578
Size:	245.8 KB
ID:	2068425   Click image for larger version

Name:	05.gif
Views:	705
Size:	260.9 KB
ID:	2068426   Click image for larger version

Name:	06.gif
Views:	535
Size:	227.0 KB
ID:	2068427   Click image for larger version

Name:	07.gif
Views:	574
Size:	240.0 KB
ID:	2068428   Click image for larger version

Name:	08.gif
Views:	651
Size:	207.1 KB
ID:	2068429  

Click image for larger version

Name:	09.gif
Views:	537
Size:	195.5 KB
ID:	2068430   Click image for larger version

Name:	10.gif
Views:	490
Size:	261.4 KB
ID:	2068431   Click image for larger version

Name:	11.gif
Views:	478
Size:	272.5 KB
ID:	2068432  
Old 01-27-2015, 08:43 PM
  #681  
j301
Senior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
j301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 389
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rossmick View Post
Did not use flaps on maiden and will give it a few more landing to settle in to find the least power required to fly on. Landings were good today, but not grease jobs.

Thanks to all who have posted in advance.
Welcome to the club, the build looks nice, I forgot this plane could be set up as a trike! As far as the landing with flaps goes, if you've ever seen this scene from Austin Powers, it is pretty much what its like!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	austin-powers-steamroller.jpg
Views:	468
Size:	46.0 KB
ID:	2068446  
Old 01-27-2015, 08:56 PM
  #682  
rossmick
Senior Member
 
rossmick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vail, AZ
Posts: 329
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

j301

Thanks for the welcome. I am an old USAF fighter pilot - F100, F105, F4 and F16 so all the planes I know were tricycle gear, just seems the right way to land. I do have tail draggers but I do prefer the nose gear. It also helped with the balance. It took no weight to balance the plane just by putting the batteries in the correct location.
Old 01-27-2015, 09:19 PM
  #683  
Kostas1
 
Kostas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: AthensAthens, GREECE
Posts: 3,566
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

rossmick,

is the LiFe mAh capacity enough for the GUS?

Old 01-27-2015, 10:04 PM
  #684  
rossmick
Senior Member
 
rossmick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vail, AZ
Posts: 329
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

Kostas1

Good question. As the two batteries on the Smart Fly board are 1900 each and the ignition is a 2100 it appears to be enough. I will charge them in the morning and record the input and see what the flights put on them from todays flying and let you know. None of the servos are high draw but there are 8 of them. I have just transitioned from nicads and will watch how the LiFe's hold up. After a charge from the night before they drop off almost nothing the next morning (about 17) where the nicads were loosing over 400. The only draw back I have been told is a very rapid fall off when the battery is spent. The Smart Fly board maintains a constant 5.1 volt supply to the receiver no matter what the higher input voltage of the batteries are, so what I see on the XG11 is just the 5.1 receiver volts. If the alarm goes off on the radio for receiver voltage I am sure the next thing to do is get on the ground.
Old 01-27-2015, 11:44 PM
  #685  
Super08
My Feedback: (2)
 
Super08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fort McMurray, AB, CANADA
Posts: 4,119
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Rossmick it looks like you used the stock hardware for the pushrods. The end links have a tendency to break with gas engines so keep an eye on them. She looks sweet.
Old 01-28-2015, 05:23 AM
  #686  
paof
 
paof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: maracaibo, VENEZUELA
Posts: 250
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hi giant stick fans one question: best servos for this plane? futaba o hitec Brand.
Thanks in advance.
Old 01-28-2015, 07:23 AM
  #687  
Super08
My Feedback: (2)
 
Super08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fort McMurray, AB, CANADA
Posts: 4,119
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Up here we all use Hitec 645MG servos in them. They are tough as nails and have a low power draw. The transit speed is slow at around .20 seconds or something but this is not a high performance plane either.
Old 01-28-2015, 07:45 AM
  #688  
paof
 
paof's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: maracaibo, VENEZUELA
Posts: 250
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Thanks Super 08. Is all i need.
Old 01-28-2015, 11:03 AM
  #689  
SkidMan
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oviedo, FL
Posts: 349
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rossmick View Post
Kostas1

Good question. As the two batteries on the Smart Fly board are 1900 each and the ignition is a 2100 it appears to be enough. I will charge them in the morning and record the input and see what the flights put on them from todays flying and let you know. ...
With two 1900 mAH flight batteries and a 2100 for the ignition you are well into the overkill range for battery capacity.

One 1900 or 2100 would be enough for a lot of flight time including the ignition. But I will not argue against redundancy.

Yes, LiFe battery voltage does drop quickly once you approach their capacity. But just think about it being pretty much the same as setting a flight timer based on your fuel capacity. You fill it up. You fly. Measure how much you used for a given flight time. Do the math to estimate the total time you can fly and still have a comfortable reserve. You also check up on it every so often.

I'll look forward to hearing about your electric power usage.

Paul

Last edited by SkidMan; 01-28-2015 at 01:07 PM.
Old 01-28-2015, 05:26 PM
  #690  
rossmick
Senior Member
 
rossmick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Vail, AZ
Posts: 329
Likes: 0
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default

SkidMan & Kostas1

Flew again today and have some mAH usage numbers for both days. Ignition uses about 40mAH per flight or 3 per minute. Receiver & servos use 140aAH per flight or 5 per minute. I can tell you that I am somewhat surprised at how low the usage amounts are. These figures are approximate on the minutes as I did not record the actual flight time, but generally fly 12 - 18 minutes per flight. Additionally, I flew three flights on a single tank of fuel and was not close to being empty, most likely will not do that again.

Super08

I remember reading that in the blog and I thought I would try them. I usually use swivels and after a few more flights I may just go ahead and change these out. Hate to realign the controls as they are spot on right now and I doubt I'll manage to get them back to where they are now. No big deal, but it sure flies nice right now.

j301

I made flap landings today and it was pretty amazing how slow and controllable the landings were with the flaps. I mixed the elevator as per instructions and the plane never moved when the flaps went down. How many degrees of flaps do you guys have with full flaps?

Last edited by rossmick; 01-31-2015 at 06:58 AM.
Old 01-28-2015, 09:38 PM
  #691  
edge540purple
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 50
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Scratched built giant stick.

My Scratch built stick, RCGF40cc Twin with a 20 x 10 prop and custom made exhaust. Has now completed 802 flights just over 400 on the twin...
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	stick 401cc twin.jpg
Views:	568
Size:	238.0 KB
ID:	2068730   Click image for larger version

Name:	RCGF 40cc.jpg
Views:	539
Size:	561.3 KB
ID:	2068731  

Last edited by edge540purple; 01-28-2015 at 09:40 PM. Reason: Add note
Old 01-28-2015, 10:01 PM
  #692  
cmsrp
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: StrathdaleVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by edge540purple View Post
My Scratch built stick, RCGF40cc Twin with a 20 x 10 prop and custom made exhaust. Has now completed 802 flights just over 400 on the twin...
That's a good number of flights edge. Have you had to do anything to the RCGF??
Old 01-29-2015, 01:35 AM
  #693  
edge540purple
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 50
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Hi cmsrp,

No, havent touched the RCGF 40 twin, its still on the first set of REXCEL iridium plugs too... Still starts after two flips after chock and runs like new...
Old 01-29-2015, 02:10 AM
  #694  
cmsrp
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: StrathdaleVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by edge540purple View Post
Hi cmsrp,

No, havent touched the RCGF 40 twin, its still on the first set of REXCEL iridium plugs too... Still starts after two flips after chock and runs like new...
Wow, that's great. I have looked at these engines for other models, but have never really been sure. Might just have to give one a go????
Old 01-29-2015, 02:16 AM
  #695  
edge540purple
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 50
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Have a look at my web site www.rcgfenginesaust.com
Old 01-29-2015, 07:52 PM
  #696  
bluefin021
Junior Member
 
bluefin021's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I’m putting 30cc DLE on mine and I wanted to replace the stock front strut with a dual strut nose gear. Any suggestions where I can where can I find one? I was told Fults went out of business and my local shop doesn’t have anything like that.
Old 01-29-2015, 08:53 PM
  #697  
Super08
My Feedback: (2)
 
Super08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fort McMurray, AB, CANADA
Posts: 4,119
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Check with AMR they may have something.
Old 01-29-2015, 08:57 PM
  #698  
cmsrp
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: StrathdaleVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by edge540purple View Post
Have a look at my web site www.rcgfenginesaust.com
Mmmm, now that changes my thinking a little.
Now please don't take this personally edge, but when I hear it's the importer/dealer/supplier making claims like this, I tend to take it with a grain of salt. If you were an end user/customer without any connection to the "said engine" supply business, I would think more positively about it. Of course this does not mean I'll never get one, it just means I'll continue to stay "never really sure" at the moment.
Old 01-29-2015, 09:16 PM
  #699  
cmsrp
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: StrathdaleVictoria, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 234
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by bluefin021 View Post
Iím putting 30cc DLE on mine and I wanted to replace the stock front strut with a dual strut nose gear. Any suggestions where I can where can I find one? I was told Fults went out of business and my local shop doesnít have anything like that.
Thats a shame about Fults, they are great products. Are you sure he's not still selling them as his website still has the paypal payment links etc???
I still have some modified Scorpion F-60's new in bag if you are interested. They were special order from Fults with the "C" measurement at 4 inch instead of the std F-60 size, for some custom builds I was doing years ago. I just checked it next to my Giant Stik and I reckon it will suit. Just note, I am in Australia, so postage might be the issue???

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Fults F60.jpg
Views:	476
Size:	179.2 KB
ID:	2069020  
Old 01-30-2015, 08:04 AM
  #700  
decostop
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by cmsrp View Post
Thats a shame about Fults, they are great products. Are you sure he's not still selling them as his website still has the paypal payment links etc???
I still have some modified Scorpion F-60's new in bag if you are interested. They were special order from Fults with the "C" measurement at 4 inch instead of the std F-60 size, for some custom builds I was doing years ago. I just checked it next to my Giant Stik and I reckon it will suit. Just note, I am in Australia, so postage might be the issue???

I appreciate the offer and shipping probably would be pricey. I called Fults and they are operating till they sell their current inventory then they will close up the shop.
Any idea what which sturt i should get? I was looking at the class II model # 610.

http://www.fultslandinggear.com/RFseries.html

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.