Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > ARF or RTF
Reload this Page >

Kangke Monocoupe 20% (60 size)

Community
Search
Notices
ARF or RTF Discuss ARF (Almost Ready to Fly) radio control airplanes here.

Kangke Monocoupe 20% (60 size)

Search this Thread

Old 06-21-2010, 06:03 PM
Hughes500E
My Feedback: (16)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kangke Monocoupe 20% (60 size)

Are there very many of these still being flown? Anything you would have done different now that you know?
I'm just getting started on one. I read through searches on here that someone recommended the Saito 170 3 cylinder, I can tell you that the cowl would have to be cut up pretty good to get it in there!

Any thoughts?
Thanks
Old 06-21-2010, 07:04 PM
aussiesteve

Default RE: Kangke Monocoupe 20% (60 size)

I fly mine regularly.
This model needs a LOT of weight up front to balance. And at least the equivalent power of a decent 90 sized 2 stroke glow to power it.

They are not designed to fly fast so prop it appropriately

The perfect engine for the nose of them is a Zenoah 20, 23 or 26 (whatever is available). Mine is currently powered by a Chinese 23cc but it has had a number of engines in it - including ASP 90 4 stroke (not very reliable power) an ASP 1.20 4 stroke (good match) a Saito 1.25 (somewhat more power than needed).

If you use the clevises that come with it - they are designed to be CA'd onto the rods once set - as well as using the lock nuts (I was told this by the factory itself).

Check the struts very closely - I had one of the wires pull out of the end of one of mine (yes - I was doing something silly at the time).

Spend the time to set up the flaps - it makes it a VERY slow flier. I can make mine land while travelling backwards over the ground in a reasonable headwind.

The ailerons need to have differential set up on them otherwise it will may the opposite direction to what you expect when you use them.

Follow the setup in the manual for throws and Cof G.