RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   ARF or RTF (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/arf-rtf-75/)
-   -   SIG Kadet LT-40 EG ARF... Electric or Glow? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/arf-rtf-75/11592083-sig-kadet-lt-40-eg-arf-electric-glow.html)

Foxbat711 12-26-2013 09:23 AM

SIG Kadet LT-40 EG ARF... Electric or Glow?

I am not sure whether to use glow or electric in the SIG Kadet LT-40 EG ARF..... I have no experience with electric motors but I have flown glow rc planes in past... just getting back into hobby..... Thanks for any feedback....

MajorTomski 12-26-2013 09:41 AM

If you don't mind the initial higer expense, go electric. It's a lot of fun just to flip a switch and fly and not wipe a slimey plane down at the end of the day. MAKE SURE YOU FOLLOW ALL SAFETY precautions when using LiPo batteries!

flyinwalenda 12-26-2013 10:42 AM

Hi, It depends if you are going to be in it for awhile or just seeing if you still enjoy it. Also depends what field equipment you have from your glow days.
If you have a starter, glow panel/igniter ,NiCd/NiMh battery charger,fuel pump, fuel can, tools,etc...to support a glow engine then I would say install a glow engine like a 2-stroke OS46/55 or a 4-stroke Saito 62 or a gasoline engine like the Evolution 10GX.
If you have no support equipment then it's a bit of a toss-up.