Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Batteries & Chargers
Reload this Page >

500mah to 180mah, which resistor?

Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

500mah to 180mah, which resistor?

Old 05-14-2012, 05:08 PM
IronZ
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 500mah to 180mah, which resistor?

Hello RCU!

I have an old Anderson Racing multi-charger. One of the sets of jacks charges at 500mah and I want to drop it down to 180mah(ish). How do I go about determining what resistor I need? I've looked around a bit and discovered that I am not an electronics engineer, haha. Does anyone have some input?

Thanks!
Z
Old 05-14-2012, 09:57 PM
Goldenduff

Default RE: 500mah to 180mah, which resistor?

What voltage is it currently at?
Old 05-14-2012, 10:14 PM
Cronniss

Disclaimer: I am used to dealing with electronics at a constant output and not a measure over time, which is what charging a batter requires. The information I am giving you below is based on my knowledge of electronics and may need some tweaking to accommodate current over time as opposed to a constant output. (I have never studied a battery charger, so...) Basically this disclaimer is to inform you to make alterations to your charger at your own risk.

Well, Ohm's Law dictates that.

For your concerns, you're wanting to find R (resistance); so you would look at it as:

R = V / I

Since you already know thatyou desirea current (I) of ~180mah, it is going to be the output voltage (V) of your charger that is going to determine what size resistor you want too use.