Community
Search
Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Got my Lipo a little wet

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2016, 10:35 PM
BlueFire

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Got my Lipo a little wet

I'm new to lipos so when my SPC arrived in the mail today I couldn't wait to run it in my 1/16 E-Revo VXL. It had just stopped rainy about 1 hour before so the road was a little wet with tiny puddles here and there. After the run I realized after that you shouldn't run lipos in water so could I have possibly have damaged the battery? Im not sure if I'm being a little paranoid or not but the pack doesn't seem as rectangular as it was when I got it.
Old 09-23-2016, 11:57 PM
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

If you are new to lipos then a few things:
First, did you change the low voltage cut-off on the esc to run lipo batteries?
Second, is the pack a hard or soft pack? A hard case pack is preferred for surface use as the pack is better protected,
You didn't say how wet the pack got. Dunking is not good for any battery.
If it is out of shape I say it has puffed up probably from not having the lvc set correctly or continuing to run it after the lvc kicked in.
Old 09-24-2016, 04:29 AM
aymodeler
My Feedback: (3)

Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts

A few drops of water splashed on the outside of the pack is harmless, but as the last poster said, full immersion would not be good.