Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Batteries & Chargers
Reload this Page >

NiMh battery+Hobbico Accu Cycle Elite charger question.

Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

NiMh battery+Hobbico Accu Cycle Elite charger question.

Old 05-03-2018, 09:40 PM
  #1  
Kostas1
Thread Starter
 
Kostas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: AthensAthens, GREECE
Posts: 3,566
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default NiMh battery+Hobbico Accu Cycle Elite charger question.

Dear friends,
I am using a Hobbico Accu Cycle Elite charger for almost a decade now and I'm very happy.
I recently got a Futaba 8J and I had to order a custom 4/5AA NiMh 5Cell pack to fit on the battery compartment.
Unfortunately,
when I am trying to cycle the pack to refresh it i get a time limit warning and the readings on the charger are:

Minutes before warning: 7.33V @ 1.766mAh
On warning: 7.23V @ 1.800mAh

The battery pack consists of: 1.2V NiMh at 1.200mAh

Do you have a suggestion?
Old 05-04-2018, 04:16 AM
  #2  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 26,185
Received 257 Likes on 206 Posts
Default

Are you trying to cycle it in the transmitter? Most have diodes that prevent discharging thought the charge jack.
Old 05-04-2018, 04:25 AM
  #3  
Kostas1
Thread Starter
 
Kostas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: AthensAthens, GREECE
Posts: 3,566
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

No,i removed it from the battery compartment...
Old 05-04-2018, 04:49 AM
  #4  
Jesse Open
 
Jesse Open's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 30 Miles North of Canada Border
Posts: 3,319
Received 60 Likes on 52 Posts
Default

You are remembering to set the switch at the 5 cell setting? If so, it could be dirty switch contacts. Slide switches are prone to that problem at times.
Old 05-04-2018, 04:55 AM
  #5  
Kostas1
Thread Starter
 
Kostas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: AthensAthens, GREECE
Posts: 3,566
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

I think yes,i set it at 5 cell.
Old 05-04-2018, 10:02 AM
  #6  
A. J. Clark
 
A. J. Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Craigville, IN
Posts: 665
Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Kostas1 View Post
I think yes,i set it at 5 cell.
Maybe you just don't have all the steps programmed for the discharge cycle. Along with cell count you need charge amps, discharge amps, and cell volt cut off
Old 05-04-2018, 10:16 AM
  #7  
Kostas1
Thread Starter
 
Kostas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: AthensAthens, GREECE
Posts: 3,566
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by A. J. Clark View Post
Maybe you just don't have all the steps programmed for the discharge cycle. Along with cell count you need charge amps, discharge amps, and cell volt cut off
To be honest,
I haven't changed anything because the charger auto-detects whats best for the pack.
I only chose 5cell & the 1200mAh's capacity.
Old 05-04-2018, 11:10 AM
  #8  
BelAirBob
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 492
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Hi

i have this charger and same issue at times. I think it has something to do with not detecting the peak
Old 05-04-2018, 02:52 PM
  #9  
A. J. Clark
 
A. J. Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Craigville, IN
Posts: 665
Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Kostas1 View Post
To be honest,
I haven't changed anything because the charger auto-detects whats best for the pack.
I only chose 5cell & the 1200mAh's capacity.
Yes that is true. Good idea to check all the settings anyway. Maybe make some miner changes and try again .
Old 05-04-2018, 04:27 PM
  #10  
bhorton
My Feedback: (26)
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Corinth, MS
Posts: 122
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I had the same problem. I set the peak sensitivity to 3mV and it solved the problem.
Old 05-05-2018, 10:58 PM
  #11  
Kostas1
Thread Starter
 
Kostas1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: AthensAthens, GREECE
Posts: 3,566
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by bhorton View Post
I had the same problem. I set the peak sensitivity to 3mV and it solved the problem.
OMG, thanks for your suggestion, i've never thought of that!
I will see whats going on with the 3mV sensitivity and report back.
Meanwhile,
I am copying this from the manual of the charger:

Press DOWN to find the PEAK SENSITIVITY screen. This value determines the sensitivity/accuracy of the peak detection circuit. The factory default value of 8mV is acceptable for NiCd and NiMH batteries. Adjustment of this value can help match the characteristics of your battery to the charger for better peak charges. The recommended settings are 5-15mV for NiCd batteries, and 3-10mV for NiMH batteries. A lower number means the cycler will try to be more precise in finding peak charge, but in certain situations could cause the cycler to errantly stop peak charge too quickly, in which case it may be necessary to increase this number to 8mV or greater (especially if using AC input power). Press CHANGE, then UP or DOWN to find the desired peak sensitivity value. Press CHANGE to confirm selection.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.