Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Batteries & Chargers
Reload this Page >

Tripping various breakers in my house

Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Tripping various breakers in my house

Old 11-28-2020, 03:57 PM
  #1  
jdc442
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mount Morris , MI
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tripping various breakers in my house

I am currently using the evpeak pj1 with the icharger duo 406 and I seem to trip various breakers throughout my house. I feel like it trips when I first turn on the power supply. I have the dial turned up to get 24v. I have tried other outlets but then I find other breakers tripped. Is there anything I can check? Thanks in advance
Old 11-28-2020, 04:28 PM
  #2  
init4fun
 
init4fun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 3,919
Received 26 Likes on 21 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by jdc442 View Post
I am currently using the evpeak pj1 with the icharger duo 406 and I seem to trip various breakers throughout my house. I feel like it trips when I first turn on the power supply. I have the dial turned up to get 24v. I have tried other outlets but then I find other breakers tripped. Is there anything I can check? Thanks in advance
Since it trips different breakers when plugged into different outlets , this is an indication that the setup is drawing too much power . Have you tried disconnecting the charger from the power supply to see if the power supply alone will trip the breaker when it's turned on ? If the power supply still trips the breaker with no load attached then I'd guess the power supply is defective . But if it only trips with the charger attached to the power supply then the charger could be suspect .
Old 11-28-2020, 04:32 PM
  #3  
tedsander
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: White Bear lake, MN
Posts: 539
Likes: 0
Received 39 Likes on 37 Posts
Default

Not much on line for a manual. IF the evpeak is really capable of 1350 watts, that's a minimum of 12 amps at 110 v. Probably a bit more, due to conversion inefficiencies. Many/most house circuits are 15 amps. So find a circuit to plug in to that has nothing else on it. No idea as to the design of this system, but a well designed one would draw about half if dialed down to 12v. If it is blowing breakers with nothing plugged in, it is a fire or electrocution hazard, and I would NOT use it, trying for a repair, replacement or a refund - or trash....

And..following up on init4fun - does it not blow on its own, but does with the charger plugged in, but not charging anything? Then it is very possible the charger is defective. If not, then you are probably trying to charge too much at the same time, the devices are likely fine, but the house isn't.....try reducing the number of batteries, the sizes, or both, that you are trying to charge and see if it maintains. If such is the case, then it is time to call an electrician, and have a dedicated 20 amp house circuit run to wherever you want to charge things....

Last edited by tedsander; 11-28-2020 at 04:42 PM.
Old 11-28-2020, 04:54 PM
  #4  
jdc442
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Mount Morris , MI
Posts: 13
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I heard it trip the gfci in my garage when I turned the power supply on with nothing on it but the dial turned up to 24v. I'm charging no more than 1c on 2 channels so about 6.5 amp each side. It does have a weird delay turning on after I turn the power switch on to the power supply. More or less it feels like the initial power up. I dunno if it matters the dial is up when I turn it on. I bought it used with my xmaxx but I think I will look into a diff charger
Old 11-30-2020, 08:18 AM
  #5  
kregan
 
kregan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Highland, MD
Posts: 1,895
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by jdc442 View Post
I heard it trip the gfci in my garage when I turned the power supply on with nothing on it but the dial turned up to 24v. I'm charging no more than 1c on 2 channels so about 6.5 amp each side. It does have a weird delay turning on after I turn the power switch on to the power supply. More or less it feels like the initial power up. I dunno if it matters the dial is up when I turn it on. I bought it used with my xmaxx but I think I will look into a diff charger
Is the breaker a GFCI, AFCI (arc fault), or combination breaker?
Arc fault breakers detect sparks or arcs. Switches sometimes arc when turned on and if the switch is on and you plug it into the outlet the arc at the outlet can trip the arc fault breaker.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.