Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Batteries & Chargers
Reload this Page >

Spektrum Smart battery question

Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Spektrum Smart battery question

Old 07-25-2022, 12:04 PM
  #1  
Dazzyst
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2022
Posts: 8
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spektrum Smart battery question

Hi All,

Can Spektrum Smart batteries be charged on ISDT / normal Lipo chargers or MUST it be a Spektrum Smart charger?

Cheers
Daz
Old 07-25-2022, 12:38 PM
  #2  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,049
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

Depends.

Gen1 Smart packs have a balance lead and can be charged conventionally.

Gen2 or G2 smart batteries have no balance lead and must be charged with a Smart charger.

If you're buying from Horizon you're most likely going to get G2, if you're buying old stock from a hobby shop or online retailer you need to be sure that what you're buying isn't G2 if you want to use a regular charger.
I have 24v icharger 308 and I love it, but i was sold on the S2200 smart charger once i tried it.

Edit for clarification: You can charge G2 smart batteries without a Smart charger (nobody is getting shafted) but you can't BALANCE charge them. It didn't occur to me to mention this because most people balance charge big lipos.

Last edited by BarracudaHockey; 07-26-2022 at 06:31 AM.
Old 07-26-2022, 04:10 AM
  #3  
rgburrill
 
rgburrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Tx CT
Posts: 2,866
Received 76 Likes on 67 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey
Depends.

Gen1 Smart packs have a balance lead and can be charged conventionally.

Gen2 or G2 smart batteries have no balance lead and must be charged with a Smart charger.

If you're buying from Horizon you're most likely going to get G2, if you're buying old stock from a hobby shop or online retailer you need to be sure that what you're buying isn't G2 if you want to use a regular charger.
I have 24v icharger 308 and I love it, but i was sold on the S2200 smart charger once i tried it
Seriously? I don't use the balance leads anyway so why can't this work? Horizon finding another way to shaft buyers?
Old 07-26-2022, 06:29 AM
  #4  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,049
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

You charge Lipos without balancing?
Old 07-30-2022, 05:44 AM
  #5  
rgburrill
 
rgburrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Dallas, Tx CT
Posts: 2,866
Received 76 Likes on 67 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey
You charge Lipos without balancing?
Not every time, no. I also don't run my batteries down to near the low voltage point. I'm not the kind of person who spends his entire time at the field flying - being social with the other fliers is important to me. I do occasionally use the balance lead, but I stay away from Horizon Hobby batteries, even most other Horizon items, so I won't ever see this issue.

Horizon lost me as a customer when they bought up the field and raised their profit level.
Old 08-01-2022, 07:01 AM
  #6  
YellowBlueBird
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: raleigh, NC
Posts: 323
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default smarat charges and LiPo and Li ion

my smart charger is marked for Li Pol but my smart batteries are Li ion. Does it make any difference?
Old 08-01-2022, 07:03 AM
  #7  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,049
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

Probably not, if you have a spektrum smart charger and smart battery it detects the chemistry when you plug the battery in and activates the appropriate type and charge rate based on that information.

What battery do you have? I wasn't aware there were lithium Ion smart packs
Old 08-01-2022, 09:52 AM
  #8  
YellowBlueBird
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: raleigh, NC
Posts: 323
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default battery type

The smart battery is a 2200 ma 50c.
Old 08-01-2022, 10:24 AM
  #9  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,049
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

I dont think they make any LiIon batteries, they have Life and Lipo in Smart packs.

Either way, if its a smart pack from Spektrum the charger will pick up the battery info and set the proper charge regime automatically
Old 08-01-2022, 02:42 PM
  #10  
YellowBlueBird
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: raleigh, NC
Posts: 323
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default image of battery


Li ion battery
Old 08-02-2022, 02:52 AM
  #11  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,049
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

Fascinating!

My money is on that being a misprinted label. Here's what i come up with running that part number on Horizon's web site.

https://www.horizonhobby.com/product...PMX224S50.html
Old 08-02-2022, 07:37 AM
  #12  
YellowBlueBird
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: raleigh, NC
Posts: 323
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Li Ion is not noted for high discharge rate. The same thought had occurred to me.

Thanks for the research
Jerry
Old 10-24-2022, 01:19 PM
  #13  
splinters
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Adelaide, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 22
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by rgburrill
Seriously? I don't use the balance leads anyway so why can't this work? Horizon finding another way to shaft buyers?
ALWAYS balance charge LiPo batteries! You're asking for trouble if you don't.
Old 09-12-2023, 01:20 PM
  #14  
acontreras
 
acontreras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Stafford, VA
Posts: 32
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by splinters
ALWAYS balance charge LiPo batteries! You're asking for trouble if you don't.
In fact some chargers can't charge a LiPo without the balance lead connected (Hitec RDX2 Pro, for instance)
Old 10-02-2023, 04:02 PM
  #15  
renenewman
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I bought an Apprentice from Horizon Hobby that came with a G2 smart battery & S120 USB charger.
Question - how can I tell if my smart battery is charged, or how much voltage is left in each cell without a balance lead on the battery?
Normally I would use my battery checker & plug the balance lead to check how much charge was left in my battery.
But without a balance lead on the battery, what do you do?
Old 10-03-2023, 03:03 AM
  #16  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,049
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

They have a SMART checker that reads those batteries w/o a balance lead or simply plug it into the charger.
Old 11-12-2023, 05:14 AM
  #17  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,049
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by drewA82
Spektrum Smart batteries are designed to work with Spektrum Smart chargers. While it's generally recommended to use a Spektrum Smart charger for optimal performance and safety, you can still charge Spektrum Smart batteries on ISDT or normal LiPo chargers. Just make sure to follow the manufacturer's guidelines and settings to ensure a proper and safe charging process. Safety first!
Yes and no.

G2 SMART batteries (those they are selling now) balance through the data lead, they don't have a balance tap so you really can't safely charge those with a regular charger.
Old 11-18-2023, 01:52 PM
  #18  
arb6591
 
arb6591's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lindenwold, NJ
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I am not sure if that would fit in this thread but I will take a chance.
I bought https://www.horizonhobby.com/product...2002SLFRX.html
and the charger https://www.horizonhobby.com/product...SPMXC2060.html

I got thew extensions for main charging cables but what extension do I use for data cable?

Can I charge without data cable?

Thank you!
Old 11-19-2023, 05:06 AM
  #19  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,049
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

Extensions?

You just plug the battery into the changer.

If you need an extension of the main cable you can use this https://www.horizonhobby.com/product...SPMXCA319.html

If you need to extend the balance lead you can use this https://www.horizonhobby.com/product.../DYNC0109.html
Old 11-19-2023, 03:18 PM
  #20  
arb6591
 
arb6591's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Lindenwold, NJ
Posts: 71
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BarracudaHockey
Extensions?

You just plug the battery into the changer.

If you need an extension of the main cable you can use this https://www.horizonhobby.com/product...SPMXCA319.html

If you need to extend the balance lead you can use this https://www.horizonhobby.com/product.../DYNC0109.html
That you very much.
Just what I was looking for.
Old 12-29-2023, 09:13 AM
  #21  
dsharmon
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

The fact that Spektrum G2 cells must be charged with a proprietary charger removes them from purchasing them, I’m not trashing my $350.00 charger because of their choice in this matter. It’s really a shame because I do like and use many of their G1 cells, this will simply cost them sells in the future.
Old 12-30-2023, 03:23 PM
  #22  
SigMan
My Feedback: (21)
 
SigMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boonville, IN
Posts: 1,176
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

will this battery work with a smart charger ?

Gens Ace 300 MAh 11.1V 45C 3S1P Lipo Battery Pack With JST Plug.. what does the 1P mean ?

Old 12-30-2023, 04:46 PM
  #23  
BarracudaHockey
My Feedback: (11)
 
BarracudaHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 27,049
Received 358 Likes on 288 Posts
Default

1 parallel, essentially it just means 3S

3S 2P would be 3 in series and 2 in parallel.
Old 12-30-2023, 04:49 PM
  #24  
LLRCFlyer
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Corryton, TN. Fly at Lucky Lane RC Club
Posts: 163
Likes: 0
Received 24 Likes on 22 Posts
Default

3S1P means three battery cells wired in series (3S) and each cell is one parallel cell (1P). Suppose a battery pack consisted of a total of 6 cells, wired together so that there were 2 cells wired together in parallel and then three of these double parallel cells were then wired together in series. The battery would be labeled 3S2P. Smaller battery packs very rarely have multiple cells wired in parallel. It is cheaper to just use larger cells. When battery capacity is increased significantly and the geometric shape of the pack becomes important, then the manufacturer may choose to use multiple smaller cells wired in parallel and then connect multiple parallel cell modules in series to get the desired voltage, capacity and shape.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.