Notices
Batteries & Chargers Nicads, Nickel Metal Hydride, Lithium, LiPoly, Chargers, Cyclers, etc...

Triton2 and Ice Charger......

Old 02-12-2007, 04:56 PM
  #1  
Mystikal8885
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Milledgeville, GA
Posts: 128
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Triton2 and Ice Charger......

need some help choosing between these for the best all round field charger. I'm wanting to charge 6v receiver packs, 4.8v transmitter packs and have the flexibility for any future charging. Do they come charge adapters to plug into the React controller which uses standard JR style plug? I also have a ofna stater box with a 12v gel cell and power panel with banana plug outputs for power, would like to make use of this also with my charger. Any info or recommendations for a better charger will do. Looking to spend around 150 on a charger.

Very important that the charger can be set to charge 4.8V packs at .5amps
Old 02-12-2007, 05:35 PM
  #2  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

Either one will do the small packs, be aware that the Triton will not charge thru a diode and the Ice will.
Old 02-12-2007, 06:31 PM
  #3  
akm
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Hudson, NH
Posts: 62
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

I have had [link=http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXKSY1&P=ML]this[/link] charger for a week now and I love it. It is not a triton or ice but can do everything you want it to do and it is $45 less than the triton. And dont forget this thing is tiny.
Old 02-12-2007, 07:57 PM
  #4  
Mystikal8885
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Milledgeville, GA
Posts: 128
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

so would the Ice be the better charger to get?
Old 02-12-2007, 08:18 PM
  #5  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

If the radio has a diode in the tx jack then the Triton will not charge thru it. It can be overcome by jumpering/removing diode or by hooking directly to the battery leads thus bypassing the diode. I do not know if the radio even has a diode.
Old 02-12-2007, 10:44 PM
  #6  
Mystikal8885
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Milledgeville, GA
Posts: 128
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

I will have to ask nomadio and look into it.
Old 02-12-2007, 11:59 PM
  #7  
Time Pilot
Senior Member
 
Time Pilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Vancouver, BC, CANADA
Posts: 1,512
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......


ORIGINAL: guver

Either one will do the small packs, be aware that the Triton will not charge thru a diode and the Ice will.
I have a limited knowledge of electronics, but I always thought a diode was to prevent the flow of electricity in one direction. How is it possible for the Ice to do something the Triton can't?
Old 02-13-2007, 02:05 AM
  #8  
IamDisaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bloomfield Hills, MI
Posts: 456
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......


ORIGINAL: Time Pilot


ORIGINAL: guver

Either one will do the small packs, be aware that the Triton will not charge thru a diode and the Ice will.
I have a limited knowledge of electronics, but I always thought a diode was to prevent the flow of electricity in one direction. How is it possible for the Ice to do something the Triton can't?
Could be related to the battery check procedure the Triton does before every charge. The diode could interfere with this diagnostic. If the ICE doesn't have a similar diagnostic, it would not be effected by the diode.
Old 02-13-2007, 09:17 AM
  #9  
sparky925
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: huntsville, AL
Posts: 280
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

I have the ice, and it is a great charger, and so is the Triton.
I got the ice because it will charge at a higher amp rating. I thought this would be enough
but i realized that as i got bigger abtteries, i went to 5 cell lipos...
The ICE nor the triton will charge 5 cell lipos.
In retrospect i wish i have got the trinton due to its dual outputs, but i like the data and graphs you get from the Ice..
so its give and take!!
Old 02-13-2007, 09:35 AM
  #10  
richrd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Waterford, PA
Posts: 984
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

To test if Tx has diode just do a discharge. If has diode then it will stop Immediately. I also own the ICE did ok with diode but 0.7V error and not able to capacity check made me jumper it out. ICE love the graph mode
Rich
Old 02-13-2007, 10:25 AM
  #11  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

The Triton (and ice on "auto" ) does an open voltage check every minute and as soon as 55 seconds is up it will stop.

Triton 2 will do 7 amps and 5S lipos now.
Old 02-13-2007, 12:26 PM
  #12  
Mystikal8885
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Milledgeville, GA
Posts: 128
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

Nomadio recommended to me to charge the battery outside the case. When plugged in from the external charge jack, the brain gets power and if anything happens the radio can be damaged. So now it comes down to this, which is the better charger of the two? Which should I get? Looking for easy of use, banana plugs to plug into my starter box power panel and flexibility to last me a couple years
Old 02-13-2007, 01:36 PM
  #13  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

Either one is kinda overkill really for doing radio batts, but I'd be hard pressed to decide because they will do the same job.
All in all the Triton2 is the more versatile one because it will do much higher voltage batts and pb batts as well. You can also find an original Triton that'll still be overkill for doing radio batts for a savings.
Old 02-13-2007, 01:40 PM
  #14  
Mystikal8885
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Milledgeville, GA
Posts: 128
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

so which charger would you recommend me getting? I only really need to charge 6v and 4.8V packs for now. must be a field charger sinee that's when i'll be using it the most.
Old 02-13-2007, 01:42 PM
  #15  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

I recommend the Triton.
Old 02-13-2007, 01:52 PM
  #16  
Mystikal8885
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Milledgeville, GA
Posts: 128
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

what about this one?
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXAVN1&P=7
Old 02-13-2007, 01:56 PM
  #17  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

The 959 and 969 and 977 will not do a good job on radio batts, but the 989 will.

http://www.modelrectifier.com/search...ew.asp?ID=6863

It's another that I'd put in the overkill catagory nothing at all wrong with going overkill though.
Old 02-13-2007, 02:53 PM
  #18  
pappy35
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Collierville, TN
Posts: 602
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

Have the 959...

...I just bought an ICE. The 959 is a POS.
Old 02-13-2007, 04:13 PM
  #19  
Mystikal8885
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Milledgeville, GA
Posts: 128
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

Well now it comes down to 3 choices
Triton2
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXMAJ0&P=ML
ICE
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXHDJ1&P=ML
Elite
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXEYD4&P=ML
Old 02-13-2007, 05:05 PM
  #20  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

I'll tell ya , if all I had to do was radio batts at the low end I'd get this peak charger.

http://www.electrifly.com/chargers/gpmm3005.html

and if you're like me and want digital and a much faster rate then this one will do great.

http://www.duratrax.com/caraccys/dtxp4005.html

That Elite is a nice unit too.
Old 02-16-2007, 12:13 AM
  #21  
Mystikal8885
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Milledgeville, GA
Posts: 128
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

I like the 989 charger, seems to be the better of them all. What's the feedback on this charger?
Old 02-16-2007, 06:34 AM
  #22  
IamDisaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bloomfield Hills, MI
Posts: 456
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......


ORIGINAL: guver

I'll tell ya , if all I had to do was radio batts at the low end I'd get this peak charger.

http://www.electrifly.com/chargers/gpmm3005.html

and if you're like me and want digital and a much faster rate then this one will do great.

http://www.duratrax.com/caraccys/dtxp4005.html

That Elite is a nice unit too.
I second the recommendation on a simple charger like the Piranha or IntelliPeak pulse charger.

http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXHJB4&P=7
Old 02-16-2007, 01:03 PM
  #23  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......


ORIGINAL: Mystikal8885

I like the 989 charger, seems to be the better of them all. What's the feedback on this charger?
http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_51...tm.htm#5185837

Here's a comparison to Triton and Ice. They are in the same class kinda.
Old 04-03-2007, 06:21 PM
  #24  
andrewskj
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Las Vegas , NV
Posts: 105
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

I have an old Accu Cycler still works well and I read where you say some cyclers won't cycle if the TX has a diode and I have a new Airtronics computer radio that has the diode will this work and if so how can I tell if its working. Thanks Ken
Old 04-04-2007, 09:11 AM
  #25  
guver
Senior Member
My Feedback: (325)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: LaGrange, OH
Posts: 14,857
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Triton2 and Ice Charger......

No discharge function will work thru the diode. Depending on which accu-cyle youi have it may charge, but will not discharge.

The accucyle and the accucycle elite (any setting but auto) will charge thru diode.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.