Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Good beginner plane super club or NEXstar?

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Good beginner plane super club or NEXstar?

Search this Thread

Old 11-01-2010, 10:34 AM
mval9188

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Good beginner plane super club or NEXstar?

So I'm looking into purchasing a new rtf plane today. I have never had a plane so I'm a noob however I have about 6 Rc cars not sure if that makes a difference probably not haha. I need advice on a good plane for a beginner. I looked into either the super club rtf or NEXstar mini....any thoughts or preferences from you experienced hobbyists out there? Thanks in advance
Old 11-01-2010, 11:07 AM
CGRetired
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Good beginner plane super club or NEXstar?

I take it those are both electrics.

One advantage that you will have as being a rc car person is that you already know the difference between right and left. Sounds simple, but when it's going away from you, well, right is right and left is left. When coming toward you, right is still right, BUT, it's the car right and not yours.

Same goes for flying aircraft, but often, things happen a bit faster. That beginning advantage can be a biggie because some take quite some time to get over that little hump. Main thing, get off the ground, climb up high, and fly the thing. Height gives you an advantage of error correcting time.. we call it three mistakes high...

As far as aircraft are concerned, well, I was trained on the Nexstar Select RTF.. the glow version and really liked it. Some trash the gizmo's but I don't.. cuz I learned with them and it didn't make much difference to me one way or the other. When I solo'ed, I took them off and never looked back. I DID, however, disable that AFS thing. Pain in the butt as far as I am concerned, as most of those that read this will surely agree with me on that.