Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

my first build...

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

my first build...

Search this Thread

Old 06-28-2011, 11:54 PM
patton555

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default my first build...

I just purchased a trainer plane for my dad for fathers day. Now i want to get into the hobby too. I went to my LHS and picked up a guillows 300 series piper cub kit. I have several years of experience in building rc trucks so i wanted to build my first plane. One question is what kind of electronics do you all recommend for me to put in the plane during the build (motor, servo's, radio) i'm trying to keep it affordable. Any advice will be appreciated, and my last question is, since i haven't even opened the box yet, what do i need to do to the kit during the build so that i can control this thing, like steer it and elevate it. thanks...
Old 06-29-2011, 06:25 AM
jester_s1

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
Default RE: my first build...

What you're talking about doing is a big challenge. That's a rubber band powered free flight plane. Nearly anything CAN be done, but to convert that design to RC you'll have to redesign the front of the plane for a motor mount and scratch build a cowl for it, design in a place for battery mounting and servo mounting, redesign the tail and wing for movable control surfaces, and beef up stress areas. You'll have to do all of this without adding too much weight and while keeping the center of gravity in the right place. If only one of these items is done wrong, the plane will crash on its first flight.