Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Newbie [What plane?]

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Newbie [What plane?]

Old 02-18-2012, 07:04 PM
Olsonknight

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie [What plane?]

Hi - As the title says i'm just starting out! last summer i was at the AMAclub with my grandpa and i buddyboxed a piper cub (of some sort). Iwanted to know what a good sturdy, yet novice plane would be to get. Should i get a gas plane or electric?as i'm new to the scene and i really want to get started i need a plane to start on!Thanks!
Old 02-18-2012, 09:38 PM
Mk23socom
My Feedback: (7)

Default RE: Newbie [What plane?]

There are a few questions that you would have to answer for yourself before you can take any advice really.

1. Do you have the time/patience/care to build from a kit?
   If yes, look at the SIG line of trainer craft. I kit built an LT-25 and put a .46 OS LA Glow engine on it. NOTE Glow, not GAS as in Gasoline, which is an entirely different beast to tame. They also offer the LT-40 as well and I believe they can be purchased as an ARF if I am not mistaken. There are several different trainers available in ARF and kit form that MANY guys have stood behind and all sound like they are winners!

2. Do you have a club nearby? If you are unsure, there are ways of finding this out. Many, including myself, would recommend finding a club and getting to know some of the membership and get advice from them about what they are doing. By doing so, they can help you work on and set up your stuff and eventually get you up on a buddy box!

Those are two questions I will pose, others may chime in and render my advice sound and other will add to it! Welcome to the drug that is RC Aeromodeling. I got bit 4 years ago..
Old 02-18-2012, 10:04 PM
jester_s1

Received 25 Likes on 22 Posts