Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Gluing question

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Gluing question

Old 09-09-2003, 11:06 AM
dennyjr

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Gluing question

Hi everyone, I am just getting started in R/C modeling and I have a question about gluing the balsa. I bought the GP PT-40 MKII for my training. I have started reading the instruction manual and am trying to make sure I glue correctly. Is it correct to hold the pieces tightly together and apply the CA at the seam, or do you apply it to the edge and then press it together. I have been reading a lot of posts here and there is so much great information here!

thanks for your help!
Denny
Old 09-09-2003, 11:11 AM
Crashem

Default RE: Gluing question

When working with CA the technique is dependent on the Type Thin, Medium, Thick

Thin CA the parts should be placed together and the CA wicked into the joint. (parts with a sloppy fit should not be joined with thin CA)

Medium and Thick can be applied to one side and stuck together (use med, thick on joints with gaps)
Old 09-09-2003, 11:12 AM
Montague

For tight fitting parts, with no gap, you can hold them together and apply THIN CA as you descibe.

For medium or thick CA, you apply the glue then put the parts together. This is also used when there is a small gap between the parts. You can also flow medium or thick in to a gap between parts.
Old 09-09-2003, 06:56 PM
DBCherry
My Feedback: (4)

What they said. But ideally, you do not WANT any gaps in your joints. A gap is a weak point that can fail.

Welcome to RCU and RC flight! It's a great hobby, and there are a lot of terrific people. Some of them even show up here once in awhile.

Dennis-
Old 09-09-2003, 07:55 PM
Ghostbear

Ask many questions, and don't think any are too stupid.