Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

NEED HELP WITH RADIO SELECTION

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

NEED HELP WITH RADIO SELECTION

Old 01-05-2013, 08:52 AM
rlundy90
My Feedback: (2)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default NEED HELP WITH RADIO SELECTION

I have been building planes for years but after 40 years of building it is time to learn how to fly. Ihave a Sig Kadet LT-40 to learn on. I will be starting to build an old Pica 1/6 scale Cessna 182, then a Balsa Usa 1/4 scale Cub and finally a Pica 1/5 scale P-51 Mustang. I would like to purchase a system that I can use for all the different planes, with at least 6 channels. Are there units where Ican install recivers and servos in all planes and just use the same transmitter? Are there any decent systems for under $500. Ihave looked online but I have no idea about what the use of many of the functions they talk about. I want to buy something that will serve me well for a long time without having to upgrade and I don't really want to pay for a bunch of options I will never use.
Ihave 1 more question. Not sure if it is stupid or not. I have an old Futaba Conquest system that is in good working order. I was going to use this system in the trainer instead of beating on a new system. Is this a good idea or should I learn to fly on the radio I will be using later? Is it hard to get used to a new radio? Thanks for your help Ron.
Old 01-05-2013, 09:15 AM
GaryHarris

Default RE: NEED HELP WITH RADIO SELECTION

The Conquest should be fine. In a way, I would prefer the simpler times without all this digital stuff.
Old 01-05-2013, 09:35 AM
blvdbuzzard

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

You may get about 95% of the people will recommend the DX6i. I just happen to be in the 5% who will not. I have been happy for many years with Airtronics. They have never let me down. I have radios from way back in the AM days that work very well. I have the 2.4G and they are amazing.