Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

I haven't quite figured things out

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

I haven't quite figured things out

Old 04-10-2017, 01:57 PM
latebloomer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I haven't quite figured things out

Hello everyone.

I emailed a local club this past weekend about the o.s. .40LA engine I have, & would like it to be put to good use rather than just be a paperweight. I haven't been in the r/c hobby for over ten years, but now I'm thinking about getting back into the hobby. The biggest problem I have is not owning a car to carry everything to the field each weekend. I used to drive cars & helis in Calgary. I was a better driver than a pilot. I don't know if I want to make flying aircraft something on my bucket list, or to put my blood, sweat & tears into the hobby again. I have an airtronics rd-6000, but I'm guessing it would be recommended I upgrade to something newer. I still have my real flight simulator, tools, wheels, epoxy, glo starter, covering material. It was suggested to me when I lived in Calgary making visits to Modelland, that I start with the Sig LT-40 trainer. I need to find my maac membership number again for starters. I pretty much have everything I need to build a plane with the exception of ca glue, or some of my r/c stuff is at my brother's place here in Edmonton or at my sister's in Calgary. My brother has a family & my nieces are involved in ringette, but he & his wife are teachers so being busy is an understatement to them. I could do the park flyer routine as there is a school close to where I live, but I'll have to check out the maac website for more information. I haven't considered flying a drone as that's a different ball of wax. I haven't talked to my brother about this yet even though my family & people I live with want me to get involved in something & I have looked at other hobbies, I haven't decided on the right hobby yet.

Thanks