Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Totally new, need help in deciding

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Totally new, need help in deciding

Old 05-24-2003, 04:42 AM
csisfun

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Totally new, need help in deciding

I'm gonna buy a RC plane tomorrow, but i really have a lot of problems deciding. I am very new to this hobby, I've read a little about RC planes and stuff.
After much research, I've decided I want an electric plane, because gas planes are too fast for me.
I'm also going for a high winged plane.
I'm still having a problem deciding on my radio, but I'm leaning towards the Futaba range.
What do you think?
What was your first plane like?
Old 05-24-2003, 12:34 PM
ballgunner
My Feedback: (1)

If you are going to go electric I suggest the Sig Rascal. The ony thing you will have to decide is color. It comes with the motor and speed control installed. Futaba makes good radios as does Hitec. I suggest you install Hitec HS81 servos. Get the battery recommended by Sig or if possible one with higher mAh rating as long as you stay within the weight range. This is a very nice flying aircraft and if you get a Futaba or Hitec 4 channel they will both have provisions for a buddy cord. This is a nice feature for learning to fly with an instructor which you should do by all means. If you just want a park flyer and don't want to spend a lot try the GWS Slow Stick. My last one cost $188 ready to fly. It too is a good trainer type.
Welcome to the world of RC, the most fun you can have while standing on the ground.
Old 05-24-2003, 12:38 PM
ballgunner

P.S. My first model plane was a Bunch Super Scorpion with a Baby Cyclone. Free flight needless to say. This was in the thirties. I hope you have as much fun as I've had over the years. I'll be 79 in June and I'm still active in RC.
Old 05-24-2003, 01:15 PM
airmark