Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Nexstar solo w/o Instructor...what are my odds?

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Nexstar solo w/o Instructor...what are my odds?

Old 01-11-2006, 09:42 PM
jhrober01

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Nexstar solo w/o Instructor...what are my odds?

What do you guys think my odds are of successfully soloing a Nexstar w/o an instructor given the following info.

I have never flown a fixed wing R/C plane.
I have limited experience flying R/C helicopters... Hovering, small circuits, etc.
I have flown full scale single engine aircraft (1000 hrs)
I do have Realflight G2 and can get the trainers off and back onto the ground successfully... most of the time ;-)

I have read a lot in this forum and and I've read "no instructor" solo success stories and not so successful stories w/ a Nexstar.
I have also used a lot of tips from this forum for setting up my Nexstar (disconnect AFS, proper balance, tighten the steering, check fuel system, blah, blah)

Soooo... what do you think my odds are??... 80-20?, 50-50?, 20-80? ...... ;-)

Opinions welcome.
Old 01-11-2006, 10:16 PM
da Rock

Default RE: Nexstar solo w/o Instructor...what are my odds?

Turn up the wind and dink around with it's direction in G2. Then get good enough that you can fly out a tank of gas every flight. And by that I mean that you wind up having to deadstick the sucker back when the engine quits.

Then remember that successfully flying a model isn't just twiddling the sticks. The first flights with the model won't be good if you don't know how to set the engine so it'll pull with strength for it's very first flight. You ain't gonna learn that from a simulator.