Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

First Low-wing Tail dragger

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

First Low-wing Tail dragger

Old 02-24-2006, 02:07 AM
agexpert
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First Low-wing Tail dragger

I am still pretty new to flying. I have about 6 gallons through 3 planes (2 are .46's and one is a .91 4-stroke). I have only trikes. I have been afraid to get a TD or a low-wing plane, but it's time I move on.

I am interested in a 4-star .60. Prolly put a .91 4-stroke in it. Is that the best way for me to go?

I have seen the Dragon Lady and it looks nice too....lot's of wing. I also saw a u can do .90 flying today...you see, I am having some trouble ..... I intend to 'build' a SIG Mayhem ARF this summer too, regardless.

ARF's only please, I have to work sometime. (Who am I kidding?)

All opinions are appreciated.

Thanks,

Mark
Old 02-24-2006, 02:45 AM
Red B.

Default RE: First Low-wing Tail dragger

Get one!
A 4-star .60 is about the perfect aircraft for your purposes. With its low wing loading it is a very forgiving plane with nice flying characteristics. Do a search on RCU and you will find a lot of information. A .91 4-stroke will be adequate power.
BTW, a lot of people like to make modifications to the 4-star, while all are fine, none is necessary.

/Red B.
Old 02-24-2006, 02:49 AM
forestroke

both those planes are good. i'm sure you'll get an especially lot of good feedback on first one they love that plane here!

if i were you, though, i'd also consider these two

http://www.airborne-models.com/html/...p?ProductID=43

http://www.airborne-models.com/html/...p?ProductID=22

seriously good stuff :-)
Old 02-24-2006, 06:04 AM
wxman

ORIGINAL: agexpert

I am still pretty new to flying. I have about 6 gallons through 3 planes (2 are .46's and one is a .91 4-stroke). I have only trikes. I have been afraid to get a TD or a low-wing plane, but it's time I move on.