Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

do you really need a computer radio????

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

do you really need a computer radio????

Old 04-26-2006, 12:52 AM
SICKSAND

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default do you really need a computer radio????

I'm just getting into the sport and just ordered the tower 40 trainer.It comes with a 4-channel radio,I wanted to get more planes eventually so do I need a expensive radio right now?
Old 04-26-2006, 01:32 AM
perttime

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default RE: do you really need a computer radio????

A computer radio makes it easier to set up several different planes.
With a non-computer radio, you need to do things the "old fashined" way (good old days). For example, you set your throws mechanically, using different control horn lengths; you adjust your linkages until you can leave your transmitter trims at zero.

You do not need a computer radio NOW but most likely you will want one sooner or later.
Old 04-26-2006, 07:24 AM
rlipsett

try the simple 4 channel to see if you like flying. The computer radios are great for multiple plane set ups if you decide to go on and make more advanced plane set ups easier
Old 04-26-2006, 07:56 AM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

You won't ever NEED a computer radio unless you start flying Helicopters or flying VERY advanced planes. For the average flier they have some very nice features that make life easier, but are by no means essential.

I have a few computer radios, and a few non-computer radios. I have been flying for about 40 years and I have a hangar that would make most people green with envy, yet I can't think of a single one of my planes that REQUIRE a computer radio.
Old 04-26-2006, 08:13 AM
bruce88123