Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

length of runway to take off?

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

length of runway to take off?

Old 02-06-2003, 09:48 AM
  #1  
fartdragon
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

now i'm deciding if i should save up for a plane or chopper

i don't really have a decent field...only a small flat smooth platform about 25m or so? is that enough for a plane to take off?
Old 02-06-2003, 09:50 AM
  #2  
fartdragon
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

if it does work on a 25m runway.. i'm looking foward in getting GREAT PLANES SUPER SPORTSter MKII .40

looks awesome and reasonably priced
Old 02-06-2003, 09:56 AM
  #3  
RCLIVIN
Senior Member
My Feedback: (46)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rayne, LA
Posts: 722
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

fartdragon:
That is not enough runway for that plane unless you are a very experienced flyer, our club runway is 600' long x 75' wide & I see a lot of people that could use a longer one LOL

Gil
Old 02-06-2003, 09:58 AM
  #4  
fartdragon
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

600' inches?? crap that's freaking long!!
Old 02-06-2003, 10:00 AM
  #5  
fartdragon
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

so what should i do? the nearest decent field is like...an hour away.. i just wanna play alone

so a plane won't do for me?
Old 02-06-2003, 10:13 AM
  #6  
fartdragon
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

a size 40 engine can't pull that plane off 25m?
Old 02-06-2003, 10:20 AM
  #7  
RCLIVIN
Senior Member
My Feedback: (46)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rayne, LA
Posts: 722
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

Fartdragon:
it will take off ok in that distance, landing will be the problem, unless you can bring it in super slow & touch down right on the edge of your runway. If you can do that you should be ok, from my experiences it is not enough room to land.

Gil
Old 02-06-2003, 10:34 AM
  #8  
fartdragon
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

lol is it possible if i do a slow Low pass by and catch it?? haha is it possible?

so take off is no problem?
Old 02-06-2003, 11:12 AM
  #9  
fartdragon
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

lol i was think of an aircraft carrier and came up with this idea:

"tie a line on the end of the plane and use it like the chain on a jet landing on the aircraft carrier."

catch the rope and once the plane touch down pull on the string!
Old 02-06-2003, 11:35 AM
  #10  
tkigar
Senior Member
My Feedback: (5)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Littlerock, CA
Posts: 270
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default length of runway to take off?

Do me a favor, If you do try the aircraft carrier approach.........please have your wive set up a video camera and tape it for me........Im sure I will win the 100,000 dollars on americas funniest videos

Thanks Tim
Old 02-06-2003, 11:42 AM
  #11  
fartdragon
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

anyways so should i get a heli or plane??

25 m runway...
Old 02-06-2003, 12:01 PM
  #12  
coomarlin
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
coomarlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Morgantown, WV
Posts: 1,015
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

Get a park flyer!

If you are 100 miles from the nearest field my guess is that you plan on doing all of this without the help of an instructor. If that is the case do not waste your money on a glow engine airplane and certainly not a heli. I would bet the odds of you successfully flying a heli without instruction would be 1,000,000:1

A park flyer would nt need much room and would allow you to learn the basics.
Old 02-06-2003, 12:07 PM
  #13  
fartdragon
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

i'm trying to avoid getting electric park flyers...i'm actually not into electric RC stuff..cause i had this Electric rc car..and it totally sucks..the battery runs out pretty quick

i'm more into glow stuff...yeah i might be trying to fly by myself but if i really can't get it..i wil go to the hobby shop..hehe closer compared to the field..

but serious...the real problem here is i don't have a decent runway..25m ..

and my other option is helis...

i need some suggestions...
Old 02-06-2003, 12:10 PM
  #14  
fartdragon
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

the reason why i'm looking into planes is it looks like it only requires about $350 to get into the skies...

but as for heli...it requires at least $600
Old 02-06-2003, 12:14 PM
  #15  
Geistware
Senior Member
My Feedback: (16)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Locust Grove, GA
Posts: 12,942
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

At 25m, get a helicopter!

Originally posted by fartdragon
anyways so should i get a heli or plane??
25 m runway...
Old 02-06-2003, 01:30 PM
  #16  
cruzomatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,106
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

Don't write electric RC flying off until you've tried it. I'm on my 9th electic flyer and have nothing but good to report. As far as flight time depending on your set up including battery and motor combinations and weight, flight times can vary any where from 5 to 45 minutes. I have personally flown a geared sp400 motor, 59" wingspan plane 48 minutes. There are a lot of nice park flyers that wouldn't have any problems flying in the amount of space you described. Good luck,
Old 02-06-2003, 02:19 PM
  #17  
fartdragon
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location:
Posts: 76
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

rite wow?? 48 mins? my freaking car can only go like 1 min MAX speed and the rest boring...slow poke speed..i got so fed up and bought a nitro car..much better and the sound !

but electric plane won't be boring?? i mean..no sound..the roar man..

and there aren't a lot of models to choose from
Old 02-06-2003, 03:26 PM
  #18  
MikeL
Senior Member
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Bloomington, MN
Posts: 3,282
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

What you need to do is go visit that field that's an hour away. It doesn't sound like you're too familiar with RC planes. It'll be an eye-opener for you, and you'll be able to answer some of the questions yourself.

Whatever you do, do it right. Start with a trainer, and get some help. You'll not succeed on your own, unless your goal is just to waste some cash.
Old 02-06-2003, 04:34 PM
  #19  
Live Wire
Senior Member
 
Live Wire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Sterling , CO
Posts: 6,059
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

They still make small planes that take small gas motors will fly in small area. Most are kit but are not hard to build, .049 to .25 engines . Standard radios and acc. It does not have to be big some of these are about 40 inch wing and less.
Old 02-06-2003, 05:54 PM
  #20  
MinnFlyer
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
MinnFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Willmar, MN
Posts: 28,519
Likes: 0
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

Unless you start taking this seriously here are your choices:

Do you want to destroy a $350 airplane, or a $600 heli?

You will not be able to land on a 25m runway, and helicopters are much harder than they look (so are airplanes for that matter)

Go wherever you have to to find a club and watch them fly and ask if they have a club trainer that you could try. Or get a flight sim for your computer. Try it, and then see for yourself what it's like to put your plane or heli down on a certain spot.
Old 02-06-2003, 10:12 PM
  #21  
cruzomatic
Senior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,106
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

I'm with minnflyer. Getting some help from a friend is always the best way to go. I'm currently training a friend on his glow plane and that was the first glow I've ever flown. I just jumped right into it and had absoultey no problems as I've been flying epower now for a little over two years. Flying is a great hobby and encourage you to join us with our smiling faces. If you lived in my area, I would be glad to help for free. I was shocked when my friend told me the prices of flying lessons as I just met him. I told him my price was a handshake, good luck,,,,,,,,,,
Old 02-07-2003, 01:01 AM
  #22  
spooner
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: las vegas, NV
Posts: 428
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 25m=?

ok if i'm not mistaking 25m = 75= yards. the runways i use are around 100 - 130 yards long. i'm still a newbie and can land my alpha trainer in about 50 yards. with a good bounce 65 yards.lol. if i'm wrong on the measurements it wouldn't be the first time. spooner
Old 02-07-2003, 01:03 AM
  #23  
RCLIVIN
Senior Member
My Feedback: (46)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Rayne, LA
Posts: 722
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

justgotr:
I think 25m is equat to around 83 feet
Old 02-07-2003, 01:07 AM
  #24  
spooner
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: las vegas, NV
Posts: 428
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

yes now i see the light .... 3 feet is a yard and a meter is 3 inchs more my bad spooner.. i will shutup now....
Old 02-07-2003, 05:09 AM
  #25  
flap
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: jackson, TN
Posts: 469
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default length of runway to take off?

You need a runway several hundred feet long for landing with a clear approach and takeoff for several hundred more.
Consider where you will be actually flying, youll cover 50 acres with a glow engine plane before you know it.
If there are buildings, houses, parks with humans wondering around ect. ect., you have a tremendous liability if you loose controll of the plane for ANY reason, dead battery, radio hit, failed controll surfaces, loose connection or just plane stall the thing, you can kill someone or severely damage property in a heartbeat.
Even if you have AMA insurance, if you do something stupid you may still be liable yourself, read the fineprint, there are very specific parameters outlined in the agreement to be followed when flying.
Not at all trying to scare you away from the hobby, just that no non-flyers I know seem to be able to conceive how much area is needed to fly one of these "toys".
If you cant join the club to get help, Id urge you to go with an electric plane or move closer to the field.
There are guys at our club who drive about an hour to be able to fly, its worth it.
Good luck and have fun!!

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.