Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Just getting started, and could sure use some advice

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Just getting started, and could sure use some advice

Old 02-07-2003, 05:15 AM
ND_newbie
My Feedback: (8)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Just getting started, and could sure use some advice

Hello, and greetings from western North Dakota, coldest spot in the U.S. this morning. What a distinction!

As my userid indicates, I'm just getting into this, as a new hobby. I have purchased, and started flying with, the G2 simulator, but I'm early in the process, and that part about "landings are mandatory" is something I'm still struggling with. But that's another story.

I've been reading with great interest the discussion threads on which planes to start with, ready to start with an ARF, RTF, or kit, etc. My modeling experience extends only as far as building a few Estes rockets in past years, watching them blast off with rapid acceleration, then returning to earth equally quickly, usually in the projectile mode. Some of them go pretty deep, too. As a result of that hobby, I have a few Exacto knives, but not much more, in terms of tools and supplies.

I've noticed many, many people recommend learning on a sim, while a few others have stated emphatically that flying a sim is a different world than flying the real thing. I hope that purchasing the sim was a wise move, and I'll continue working with it. Anyway, I'm leaning toward purchasing the Great Planes PT-40, as I want to stick with something that's as similar to the RealFlight simulator as I can find.