Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Polarized Sunglasses

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Polarized Sunglasses

Old 04-24-2007, 12:02 PM
Bosch232
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Polarized Sunglasses

Does anyone wear them for flying?
Do they help?

What exactly do polarized lenses do to the light spectrum?

FWIW, I don't wear glasses or contacts, at age 39 (knock on wood)
Old 04-24-2007, 12:13 PM
MinnFlyer
My Feedback: (4)

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Polarized Sunglasses

When I was 39 I didn't need glasses either. But at 45 my extra 300 turned into a biplane in the air. Getting old sucks!

Polarized sunglasses CAN be great, but only in certain conditions. I'm no expert on this, but I have some general knowledge on the subject, and in general, I personally prefer to avoid polarized lenses.
Old 04-24-2007, 12:30 PM
dieFluggeister

I prefer polarized lenses as I feel they reduce glare for me.

The lenses work on a principal like venetian blinds, allowing light straight ahead of you and from the sides to enter but blocking overhead and reflected light from below.

Some guys report a reduction of depth perception, and they dont work well with LCD displays (like on transmitters), but it's really up to the user to decide.
Old 04-24-2007, 12:34 PM
manks7477

Go with the best pair of polarized glasses you can find. You will end up wearing them all the time.

Old 04-24-2007, 12:44 PM
RCKen
RCU Forum Manager/Admin
My Feedback: (9)

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

From Wikipedia