Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

WAIT, before you buy the Progressive Trainer (P-51 or F-22)

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

WAIT, before you buy the Progressive Trainer (P-51 or F-22)

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2007, 02:56 AM
FlyinTiger
My Feedback: (45)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default WAIT, before you buy the Progressive Trainer (P-51 or F-22)

Hello everyone!

I have flown both the P-51 and F-22 Progressive Trainers. I have mentored and taught on the P-51 PTS and I think there's a more practical and more fun solution out there. Staying with Hangar 9 since they make such good ARFs, and very simple to assemble, with self aligning parts and usable hardware, join the crowd in whole heartedly recommending the H9 ARROW.

Take a look at these pictures to see how I put this H9 Arrow together to make it more of an aerobatic trainer, yet it still retains its teaching qualities for a complete newbie. The plane is solid, assembled with laser cut parts and good glue. The only structural modification I had to make was to put some triangle stock under the bottom of the horizontal stabilizer to make sure it held on...others have had their stabilizer and vertical fin break off in flight.

All the stock hardware is supurb and completely usable. I used everything but the spinner and 3-bladed prop since they won't work with my motor. I LOVE how the wing slides together. I could have glued the halves together if I wanted, but there's no need with the included Ultracote pieces to just seal it up. The rubber bands won't let the wing slide apart as long as the Ultracote is applied...there's tape too if you want to use it.