Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Help, I can't seem to get my plane over the runway.

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Help, I can't seem to get my plane over the runway.

Old 11-02-2007, 02:09 PM
vmsguy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help, I can't seem to get my plane over the runway.

I was having a bad day at the field last Saturday. I'm still learning, haven't soloed yet.. "Almost" my instructor says.

I just couldn't seem to get my plane over the short grass at my field.

I'd do the normal downwind leg, turn for approach, and cut power. Everything looks lined up. My wings are nice and level, the plane seems to be coming in straight, altitude is dropping, I'm adding up elevator so she'lll float in and... Darn it! I'm over the tall grass on the far side of the field. Apply power and go around. I'd be about 6 or 8 feet into the tall grass, nice and parallel to the field. But over the tall grass all the same...

Any hints/tips? Other then being more gutsy and confident the plane can be closer..?

I'm thinking that on the final approach, instead of trying to be straight with the field, I should try to fly the plane straight towards me. Then when I'm over the short grass, as the plane gets closer, give it a little rudder to "straighten it out" onto the grass..

Thoughts???

TIA

Lyndon
Old 11-02-2007, 02:14 PM
Adui

Default RE: Help, I can't seem to get my plane over the runway.

ORIGINAL: vmsguy

Any hints/tips? Other then being more gutsy and confident the plane can be closer..?

I'm thinking that on the final approach, instead of trying to be straight with the field, I should try to fly the plane straight towards me. Then when I'm over the short grass, as the plane gets closer, give it a little rudder to "straighten it out" onto the grass..

Thoughts???

TIA

Lyndon