Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Engine problems

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Engine problems

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2003, 02:51 AM
Mystic6
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine problems

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to R/C so beginners is where I'll post this question. I have a Midwest Citabria with a TT 90 4 stroke that I bought used here on RCU. I got it out to the field tonight for the first time. The engine starts easily and idles nice and smooth. But at high rpm's the needle valve is extremely sensitive, and when raising the nose of the plane the engine immediately slows and dies. I pulled the tank out to make sure there was a clunk at the end of the feed line, which there is. It was suggested that I clean out the carb and needle valve, and possibly replace the o-ring. Any other suggestions?

Thanks!
Old 04-30-2003, 04:04 AM
Checklst

Default Engine problems

Sounds like she is a little lean richen her up a few clicks at a time until she can hold full throttle titled up without dieing

Old 04-30-2003, 05:38 PM
dahoppa

Default Engine problems

possible tank psi problem
Old 04-30-2003, 11:04 PM
old propnut

Default Engine problems

Make sure that the choke assembly is installed, even though you will not need to choke the engine it needs the assembly for proper fuel draw.
Old 05-01-2003, 12:19 AM
JohnBuckner

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Engine problems

A little to agressive on the needle? Perhaps, but I have a hunch there is something else agravating the obvious leaning.