Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Pulse XT 40 without dihedral?

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Pulse XT 40 without dihedral?

Old 05-20-2008, 04:02 PM
F-15 Fan

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pulse XT 40 without dihedral?

I am curious to know how the Pulse flies without dihedral. Has anyone ever done this before? I figured that since I was rebuilding the thing right now, figure out if it would be a little more fun (not to say that it already isn't).
Old 05-20-2008, 04:15 PM
Jetdesign
My Feedback: (8)

Default RE: Pulse XT 40 without dihedral?

Does it seem difficult to remove the dihedral? Let us know how it works!
Old 05-20-2008, 06:59 PM
ChuckW

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I am by no means an aerodynamic expert but I would imagine that the dihedral is beneficial on this low wing plane. My guess is that removing it would cause stability issues and create some unusual characteristics but I could be wrong. If it flys good, I wouldn't mess with it.
Old 05-20-2008, 09:25 PM
rc_monster

I removed the dihedral on my nexstar and flew like a whole different plane... but I'd prolly leave it as is on the pulse.
Old 05-20-2008, 10:24 PM
ChuckW

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

ORIGINAL: rc_monster

I removed the dihedral on my nexstar and flew like a whole different plane... but I'd prolly leave it as is on the pulse.
The Nexstar is a high wing plane and the dihedral was added to the design for added stability and self-correcting characteristics. Removing it will definitely add maneuverability. I've even heard of people adding anhedral to a high wing airplane. Being a low wing though, I would think that the Pulse needs that dihedral. To me, it seems like it would be similar to constantly trying to fly a high wing plane inverted if the wing on the Pulse were flat (not exactly stable). Like I said though, I am definitely not a design guru.
Old 05-20-2008, 11:09 PM
Jetdesign
My Feedback: (8)