Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Crashed my new Mustang...

Community
Search
Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Crashed my new Mustang...

Search this Thread

Old 06-07-2009, 04:35 PM
cjmdjm

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Crashed my new Mustang...

You guys have given me a lot of advice on a new Mustang PTS MkII I recently bought, so I thought Id give you an update on that. I put in a new glow plug which fixed my engine, as suggested in another thread. I had been practicing taxiing around my yard for a week or so. I was going to seek the aid of an instructor, like everyone on here says to do, but there was a perfect day with no wind and I couldnt resist. I had taught myself to fly an old alpha trainer last summer, so Im not a complete newbie, but this is only my second plane, except for a few micros like the parkzone ember.

I took the plane to a nearby airport (with permission) with a 40' by 3000' paved runway. My takeoff roll was not very straight. It is harder to taxi straight at high throttle compared to the alpha trainer, probably since its a taildragger. But once I had it in the air it flew beautifully. I did some loops, steep turns, etc. It would do rolls, but not very well with all the PTS training wheels on. My first few landings were a bit bouncy, but otherwise not too bad. Then I set the throttle trim lower for a lower idle, and that smoothed out my landings. I made 3 flights (3 tanks of fuel) that day and did not crash.

Then the next day I had my dad build me a makeshift dirt airstrip in a pasture behind our backyard (I live on a farm). He plowed up the grass, and then smoothed it out with a snow blade. So now I have a nice, fairly smooth dirt airstrip right behind my house. Its about 25' wide by 350' long.

But there was (is) one problem with it. It has a barbwire fence at one end of the runway. I didn't think this would be a problem.