Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Beginners
Reload this Page >

Will I ever need more than 6 channels?

Notices
Beginners Beginners in RC start here for help.

Will I ever need more than 6 channels?

Old 06-16-2009, 05:54 AM
Bonza

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Will I ever need more than 6 channels?

Hi,

I'm new to the hobby. I picked up an electric Super Cub to get my feet wet and am now thinking of grabbing the hangar 9 Mustang PTS with a Dx6i Spektrum transmittor.

Will the Dx6i pretty much serve me throughout my RC Plane experience? Will I ever need more than 6 channels for anything? If so what would require more than 6?

Assuming that a 6 channel radio is all I will ever need, and that this RTF comes with simulator software, it seems like a smashing deal.

Appreciate the help!

Old 06-16-2009, 06:00 AM
mclina

Default RE: Will I ever need more than 6 channels?

I am up to about a dozen planes, and I have not needed more than 6 channels. It really depends on what you want to do, though. I think a six channel radio is a good place to start.

I have heard mixed reviews on the PTS Mustang as a trainer. I will let others give you advice on that.

Good luck and welcome to the hobby.
Old 06-16-2009, 06:55 AM
fadi

Unless you want to go into very complexed models, that virtually require a servo for each moving surface, retracts, smoke, bomb launchers and so on, I don't believe that you would ever need more than 6 channels. And if you are into Helicopters, 6 channels is more than enough for most models.

In fact, people often choose higher channel count radios because they have flexible mixings and switch controls and much more professionals menus and options.

But I would say that the 6 channel will be enough fo the coming two or three years, you will understand by then what direction is the hobby taking for you, and your preferences, and so on...