RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Beginners (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/)
-   -   Life Battery Discharge Question (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/10952259-life-battery-discharge-question.html)

MetallicaJunkie 02-09-2012 09:18 PM

Life Battery Discharge Question

I'm new to Life batteries and want to check my batteries capacity..... However when i go to discharge a 6.6 pack it only lets me discharge to 4.0 volts... is that ok or too low?

at what mah should i discharge my battery to get a realistic reading 200mah?

mach2 02-14-2012 08:48 PM

RE: Life Battery Discharge Question

Wassup tallica?

Im gonna follow this thread cause im running the 3200mah life. There doesnt seem to be a whole lot of info out there on them yet. Im just using the cheap life charger that has no display on it. It has three different charge settings and thats it. Oh, and a flashing light to tell you what its doing. And it beeps. www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p

And there was no real instruction manual with the charger (only the battery). After a few flights, I went to charge my batt for the next flying day and the thing started beeping and flashing, indicating "reverse polarity". So I checked the voltage on it and it was like 6.9 somthing. So it still had a ton of juice left in it. Im assuming that it was showing reverse polarity because it had more juice than the charger was putting in??? I dont know, im new to all this stuff.

I think im gonna get that new futaba br-3000 battery checker/balancer/ voltmeter. Ive only got a multimeter to read the voltage. And i know that it really doesnt tell you much since it can be low on MAH and still give high voltage until it is way low. Right? The voltage curve is not a steady drop from what I understand.

Do you use a battery checker of some sort, or do you get your info from the batt charger??? I shoulda shelled out some more coin for a multi function charger.