RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Beginners (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/)
-   -   Recommendations for those new to RC Flight (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/11411320-recommendations-those-new-rc-flight.html)

GBLynden 02-15-2013 03:44 PM

Recommendations for those new to RC Flight

<div><span style="font-family: verdana, geneva, lucida, 'lucida grande', arial, helvetica, sans-serif; font-size: 13px; background-color: rgb(249, 249, 255);">I figure I will try to make a contribution right away on this board. Please keep in mind that I am by no means an expert and I have no credentials that back what I posted below. All I have is some experience being a beginner not that long myself. This is simply offering a straighter path than the one I took.</span></div><div></div><div>This is the plane that I suggest you start off with. It is only $89 for everything you need and it stays fun for a long time. The best part is that you don't need a big area to fly it in and it is very easy to transport: http://www.horizonhobby.com/products/champ-rtf-HBZ4900</div><div></div><div>Here is an example of me flying mine in the wind:</div><div>http://youtu.be/pxImfQAhahY</div><div></div><div>There are other trainers out there, but this is the least expensive and best way to learn IMHO due to its price and light weight. Less mass means less destructive damage. It does mean that it will get blown around in the wind more than a larger plane, but no planes should be flown in the wind by a beginner anyhow. I do suggest flying only over grass during your first few flights in a wide open area. The grass is far more forgiving than pavement is when you crash and if the area is wide open, there is no chance to crash into a tree if it gets away from you.</div><div></div><div>Here is the best aileron trainer to learn on IMHO. It is $99 and works with the controller that comes with the trainer plane. It also looks insanely cool in person dur