RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Beginners (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/)
-   -   Beginner's Question For You Guys (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/2891158-beginners-question-you-guys.html)

Kyonic 04-19-2005 09:00 AM

Beginner's Question For You Guys

Hello My name is Kyle and I am a instrument rated pilot and I want to get into RC Airplanes. I was looking at an electric model the Hobbico SuperStar EP Select RTF w/Ailerons. So this brings me to my first question I guess electric or gas? The gas model that I have been looking at is the Hobbico NexSTAR 46 Select. I that with electric that I am going to limited to the amount of flying time that I can do on the field. Something that I thought would be good about the electric is the fact that wont the maintenace costs be lower I mean how often to you have to replace gas parts? I guess Ill just leave it at that If you could give me some pointers.

FLYBOY 04-19-2005 09:29 AM

RE: Beginner's Question For You Guys

You won't find that gas is more expensive than electric as fas as parts go. Actually, you will replace motor parts on electric long before gas (glow). You have the cost of fuel, but that isn't bad. The electrics are getting better now days so the flight times are pretty close. There are some cool electric planes out. I just got one that is way fun in the park behind the house.

At this point in time, there really isn't an advantage to either glow or electric, so get which ever you want. Just make sure it is a good plane and not a cheap plastic one or you will get bored with it fairly quickly. There are more choices in glow planes, but electrics are catching up pretty fast and you can modify glow for electric in many cases too.

Have a ball. Its a great hobby.

ICCARUS 04-19-2005 09:38 AM