RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Beginners (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/)
-   -   ESC/MOTOR prolem what did I do wrong? (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/7063915-esc-motor-prolem-what-did-i-do-wrong.html)

G-EMMA 02-12-2008 12:37 PM

ESC/MOTOR prolem what did I do wrong?

Hi All, I'm fairly new to RC so I guess my problem has come up before and this is the best place to post.

I wanted a Hobby Zone Super Cub with Spektrum radio, ailerons, military paint scheme, brushless motor and Li-Po (I wanted it all right?).

OK so here is 'Egor' the result of my efforts:

[link=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FxcFGViDyXs]Egor[/link]

5 flights, I'm impressed it all works well, oodles of power, easy to control, my first model with ailerons and very pleased with the result.

Today flight 6, ooops not so good.

Soon after take-off I lost power, the prop was noticeably stuttering and I brought it in with no power.

The motor, ESC and Li-Po were all very hot, the motor was actually smoking. Since then as soon as I run the motor the ESC and Motor overheat.

So what is wrong? The set-up is as follows:

BL400-15T brushless motor (PKZ4116)

Thunder Power 3S 11.1V 2100mAh Li-Po

BRUSHLESS 20 AMP ESC (PKZ4117)

GWS 10x6 Hyper Drive prop

The ESC, Motor and Li-Po are all parts/combinations recommended for the Park Zone typhoon, so I thought it should all work OK - I was very careful to programme the ESC as instructed for brushless inrunner on Li-Po.

The only major mod I've made to the Typhoon set-up is to use the stock Super Cub gearbox and pinion and the GWS prop.

Any help on where I went wrong or what I should do would be very welcome. I don't know whether to order a replacement motor and/or ESC, change the prop or what to do at the moment, but I do want Egor back in the sky pretty soon I'm missing him! I was very happy with it all whilst it worked!

Many thanks and appologies for long post and my taste in music,

Gemma