RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Beginners (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/)
-   -   Noob Radio Questions (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/beginners-85/7350913-noob-radio-questions.html)

mdavis203 04-08-2008 09:48 AM

Noob Radio Questions

I'm very new to the hobby but enjoying it very much so far. I've got a Piper Cub with an OS .46 and a Futaba 4 channel that I picked up used. I'm still very much in the noob learning phase, but I'm already looking ahead to my next plane, radio, etc. And I'd love to get the advice of all of you experienced pilots when choosing my next radio. I know this 4 channel won't suffice for long, and I plan on upgrading before or when I get my next plane. (Looking at the Ultra Stik with the quad flaps possibly for 2nd plane)

From what I've read and what I know about radio (in general, not necessarily just in R/C), 2.4 is the way of the future and the only way to go if buying a new radio. So, in this debate, let's take that as a given. I know that the best answer as to what radio will depend on what I plan to fly in the future. But honestly, I don't know the answer to that at this point in the hobby. After some initial (and limited because of my experience) searching, I've found the Futaba 7-channel 2.4 GHz for $280 (at Tower Hobbies) and the Airtronics 8-channel 2.4 for $230 (same place). At first glance, to the uneducated eye, it would seem that the Airtronics is the no-brainer, with one more channel and $50 cheaper. However, Futaba wouldn't still be in business if there weren't a reason they can charge more for a radio with fewer channels. Also, I'm sure there are others (JR?) that I haven't even researched thoroughly.

Or... Should I be looking at something with more channels? Would the two radios I mentioned even work for the Ultra Stik with quad flaps? And if it would, when in the future would I start being limited by 7 or 8 channels?