Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Electric Dilemma !

Old 08-04-2003, 12:32 PM
thrust_me

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electric Dilemma !

Hi!

I've become addicted to this hobby recently and this is my first post.
I fly electrics.

I’m a beginner with about 2 months flying experience and I live in Dubai, here electrics aren't quite heard of & the 2 decent hobby shops in the city provide for IC planes.
I have 2 PC-9 EPP kits lying at home that my Bro left me before he went off to Canada. I've built one and it flies great ( have to drive 2 hours to the hillside to get to some slopes.)I learnt to fly on a friend's electric trainer and so i dont own an ESC or a motor/prop setup .The radio equipment i have is a Futaba Skysport 4ch system. that ive installed in the Slopie.

Problem #1:

I want to convert one or both of my PC-9s to electric.

So i went looking for a decent speed 500 setup and came across
the Hobby-Lobby sale.
http://www.hobby-lobby.com/jetibrushless.htm

A Jeti "Phasor" 15/4 Brushless Motor and Jeti JES 30-3P Motor Controller each for 78$.totals up to 156$.
thats just about the MAX i can afford.
The planes have a 50 inch wingspan and I was looking for motor setup that can pull a 42-50oz (1200 -1500gms) plane with authority.
A direct drive with this motor seems appealing.

But !
I'm not sure if i should go ahead and make the purchase beacause with the added cost of battery and a peak charger I'll be stretching it.

Just want your opinion on what i should do.

Heres Problem# 2:

After a LOT of hunting on the net

i came across this :
www.parkflyers.com/html/viper.html

Its a viper twin flying wing. and the combo includes the 2 speed 400 motors,a 35amp ESC and battery for 149$ .
This has everything that i probably need ( except the elevon mixer) .

So what do i go for ?
: