Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Need More Thrust! How?

Old 08-13-2003, 02:33 PM
rdeis
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need More Thrust! How?

I'm an experienced Sailplane modeler, just moving into the park flyer/RC indoor sceen.

I've got a Firebird Outlaw as an introduction, but at this altitude (6000ft, Colo Spgs) it appears way underpowered. And since thrust is the only source of control on this little beastie, there's very little control authority.

My question is, what can I do to get more thrust out of this system? Since I'm using it as a learning experience and springboard, I'm not averse to spending some time and money experimenting- but I'm not sure where to start.

More cells, more motor, more prop (where do I find small counterrotaing props?) something else?

How should I expect each of these to affect the system/flight?

Primary objective for the aircraft is reasonably stable, controllable flight without burning up the speed controls or frying the radio gear.
Old 08-13-2003, 03:20 PM
Greg Covey

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The "all-in-one" RTF packages like the Firebird Outlaw are difficult to modify. They come with battery packs that just fit in the plane and make it perfectly balanced.

In general, at your altitude, you are beating thinner air so you need to compsensate by increasing prop size or reducing the gear ratio (on geared systems). Alternatively, adding a cell may be effective if the design tollerances allow it.

I see that the Firebird Outlaw comes with a 5-cell battery pack. It mat be possible to replace it with a 6-cell pack of equivalent NiCd or NiMH or a 2-cell Lithium Polymer pack of similar size that can handle the current delivery of the NiCd (or NiMH) cells.