Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Brushless gets hot

Old 09-26-2011, 08:32 AM
phatbob02
My Feedback: (126)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Brushless gets hot

I'm new to electric and need some help.
I'm running a GForce E400 Brushless motor with a Hobbywing Pentium 30A Brushless ESC.
I got everything connected and I ran it for about 20seconds. I noticed that the motor was pretty hot.
Is heating up normal for a brushless and if not, what am I doing wrong?

This is a pusher prop model and I'm running a APC Electric 9x6 pusher prop.

Below are the specs for my setup.

Motor specs:

KV: 1200
Battery: 3S LiPO
Max Load: 25A
Max Efficiency: 20A
Recommended Setup:
18A or 30A brushless motor ESC
2-3S LiPO and at least 1300mAh.
Prop Selection:
With 2S LiPO: 10x6, 10x8 Slow Flyer, 11x4.7 Slow Flyer
With 3S LiPO: 9x4.5, 10x5, 9x4.7 Slow Flyer

ESC specs:

1.1 Output: Continuous 30A, Burst 40A up to 10 Secs.
1.2 Input Voltage: 2-4 cells lithium battery or 5-12 cells NiCd/NIMh battery.
1.3 BEC: 2A / 5V (Linear mode).
1.4 Max Speed: 210,000rpm for 2 Poles BLM, 70,000rpm for 6 poles BLM, 35,000rpm for 12 poles BLM.
(BLM: BrushLess Motor)

Battery specs:

1800mAh Capacity
3S - 11.1 Volts - 30C Discharge

Thanks for any help,
Bob
Old 09-26-2011, 01:56 PM
jdetray

Default RE: Brushless gets hot

Hi Bob -

There is hot, and then there is HOT! If the motor is too hot to touch, that's bad.

Excessive heat means the motor is drawing more current than it can handle. Prolonged running at high temperatures can permanently damage the magnets, and the motor will never work properly again.

It is not unusual for motor makers to recommend props that are too large. Switching to a smaller prop will reduce the current and allow the motor to run cooler. Try a prop at the small end of the manufacturer's recommendation, or possibly a bit smaller.