Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

This might be a balance question or problem

Old 10-10-2003, 12:00 PM
Flyboy1958
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default This might be a balance question or problem

I have a Spectra sailplane and everything works just fine. I am new to flying sailplanes so I'm not sure if mine is reacting the way it should be. For one thing it tends to turn left a lot easier than turning right, even with the motor shut off. Could this maybe be a slight warp in the wing I didn't detect yet? The thing I'm really not used to is the fact that I can't get a good climb going without it pitching up and wanting to stall dipping to the left all the time. Seems to fly 20 feet, pitch up, stall, over and over. If I keep a little right stick and am very gental with the controls, I can get some decent altitude out of it, but maybe I am just used to flying my glow powered airplanes and seeing better performance. The sailplane only has rudder and elevator along with throttle. Could this be a balance problem? I have it balanced right at 3-1/8" from the leading edge as it recommends with the correct throws.
Old 10-11-2003, 11:08 AM
crewchief_432

Default RE: This might be a balance question or problem

did you try lateral balancing the plane?
Old 10-11-2003, 02:32 PM
Dr Kiwi

Sounds as if your left wing is heavier than the right, or one is (or both are) warped. The pitching up suggests you are tail heavy. Add a bit of weight to the nose and see if it makes a difference.

Cheers, Phil
Old 10-13-2003, 07:48 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

I know enough about flying sailplanes to know that it's a whole different ball of wax compared to flying glow planes.

Power planes are trimmed to fly straight and level with the power on. When you reduce power, the plane pitches down.