Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

less thrust now?

Old 10-14-2003, 12:06 AM
slagburn

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default less thrust now?

Well, I haven't flown the plane yet, but have noticed less thrust after putting a bigger motor on? I have a Slow Stick and put on the Great Planes kit with 3:1 gearbox and 400 motor. Rs380, that's 400, or Speed 400, right? I used the APC 11/7 prop. Before it had a stock GWS 300 motor/ gearbox w/ Uncle Mikey mod, advanced timing, GWS 12x6 prop. The battery and ESC are the same, Sanyo 8.4V 730 mAh, Zagi 20A speed control. Also battery life is down?
Maybe the motor just needs break-in.. I just want more power and climbout, and carrying capability.
Where did I go wrong? Prop, gearing, ?? I'm new at this and there's a lot more to electrics than it seems apparently...
Old 10-14-2003, 07:55 AM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Default RE: less thrust now?

A bigger motor does not necessarily mean more thrust. Power is derived from a combination of battery size (number of cells), motor specifications, gearbox, and propeller. It's not a simple "bigger == more power" equation like in glow.

With electrics, if you change one piece of the equation, you affect all the other pieces of the equation. Small changes, like an inch either way in diameter or pitch on the propeller, the addition or deletion of a cell in the battery, a slightly hotter motor of the same type, normally don't require a total rethink of the power system. Major changes, like going from a Speed 300 to a Speed 400, require you to rework the entire power system. Otherwise, you're left with anemic performance, and damaged equipment (from a crash or overload).

What kind of RS380 motor is it? An RS380PH or an RS380SH?
Old 10-14-2003, 11:40 AM
slagburn