Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

What is wrong with my new Himax Brushless????

Old 02-22-2004, 02:00 AM
  #1  
SeenMCrash
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Krefeld, GERMANY
Posts: 296
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What is wrong with my new Himax Brushless????

I just got a new Himax 2015-4100 motor and a CC25 ESC. I glued the motor pinion in myself with Loc-tite and put it with an adapter in a GWS gearbox. I got everything soldered up and tested it out. When I apply throttle, instead of it smoothly powering up, it gets all jerky and goes backwards and forward. It seems like it's trying to go, but something is holding it back.

If I give it a little boost with my hand, it runs normally. It's only the beginning that's affected. I thought it could be the gear mesh, so I tried just about every different mesh possible. One thing I did find out, was that it runs fine with no prop! What on earth can be going wrong here? One other minor detail is that the pinion is about 1mm farther out than the large gear, but I don't think that's the problem.

The battery is a 7x600 NiCD, because the 3s1p Li-po is on the charger. I haven't tried the li-po yet.

Any ideas are greatly appreciated!

-Andrew
Old 02-22-2004, 08:23 AM
  #2  
crewchief_432
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: groveland, FL
Posts: 182
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What is wrong with my new Himax Brushless????

try turning the motor brake off. mine did that to and that seemed to fix it.
Old 02-22-2004, 09:32 AM
  #3  
SeenMCrash
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Krefeld, GERMANY
Posts: 296
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What is wrong with my new Himax Brushless????

Nope, just tried it. That's not it. Anyone got any other ideas? -Andrew
Old 02-22-2004, 12:46 PM
  #4  
3Dreaming
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Noble, IL,
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What is wrong with my new Himax Brushless????

Go to the Fun Fly forum, in the ProBro section. Look under "The Derby City Fliers Jan 3 ect." on Page nine, post 262 there is a list of setting provided by CC for the CC25 programing on th Himax. Tom
Old 02-22-2004, 01:47 PM
  #5  
SeenMCrash
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Krefeld, GERMANY
Posts: 296
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What is wrong with my new Himax Brushless????

UGH!!

That didn't work. I changed all the settings to what as recommended on that page. What else could be wrong??

-Andrew
Old 02-22-2004, 01:56 PM
  #6  
ChuckAuger
Senior Member
My Feedback: (12)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Pampa, TX
Posts: 5,133
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What is wrong with my new Himax Brushless????

Make 100% certain your connectors are making good contact.

Could be a faulty controller. Try emailing Castle Creations and asking them, this isn't the first time this type of thing has happened.

You can post a question directly to Castle Creations Here
Old 02-22-2004, 02:06 PM
  #7  
SeenMCrash
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Krefeld, GERMANY
Posts: 296
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What is wrong with my new Himax Brushless????

OK, tested all connections, no problems. Motor still doesn't work right. I'm emailing CC now..
Old 02-26-2004, 08:15 PM
  #8  
3Dreaming
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Noble, IL,
Posts: 515
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What is wrong with my new Himax Brushless????

Did you get your problem fixed yet? If you did what was it?
Old 02-26-2004, 08:28 PM
  #9  
SeenMCrash
Senior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Krefeld, GERMANY
Posts: 296
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: What is wrong with my new Himax Brushless????

Yeah, the problem was a defective unit. As Chuck said, certainly wasn't the first time. I called on Monday, and I received it Thursday, along with a SASE to send the old one back. -Andrew

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.