Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

electric motor help

Old 03-17-2004, 07:33 PM
studysession

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default electric motor help

This is my first time posting in the plane forums, so please take it easy on me.

I am trying to figure out how much power this motor has? I have no clue what I have to be honest. It was given to me from a friend and it is brand new but I have no documentation on this thing. I want to put a longer shaft on the motor but not sure if it is possible.
http://www.atlantahobby.com/shopexd.asp?id=1154

ALSO: What ESC would I use for this?

Many thanks in advance...
Cheers, Keith H
Old 03-17-2004, 08:14 PM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Default RE: electric motor help

Well, considering the area you're coming from, I figure you're expecting to be beat into submission for asking dumb questions, right? We airplane guys are much nicer, more mature...

The technically correct answer to your quesiton about how much power the motor has is: None. The power comes from the battery. A motor simply changes electrical energy into mechanical force, and heat. How much power the motor has depends completely on the number of cells in the battery pack, and the size of the propeller on the front.

Take a look at the table in the lower right hand corner of that page you posted. Three different batteries, three different propellers, three different power outputs. Further applications of this motor can be found at http://www.modelmotors.cz.

Feasibly, this is about a 400 Watt (a little more than 1/2 HP) motor at most. About 10 cells and 40 Amps is the most you can expect from it. How you configure it will depend on the plane you're putting it in.