Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Watt Prop is Best

Old 03-23-2004, 12:46 PM
JBoss
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Watt Prop is Best

Hello,
I have a Mini Telemaster. All out flying weight is 25 ox 11.4 0z wing loading. I put in a 480 motor on a 2.3:1 gearbox. I started with a 9 by 5 master airscrew prop. It seems that it may be drawing to many amps as the speed controller will cut out way to often. I could only get an 8*4 at my local hobby shop. On the bench there is considerably less thrust went from 15 oz of thrust to 12 oz. thrust. Any suggestions. I am also using 1700 mAh 8 AA cell packs. and a JETI 180 speed controller

Any prop suggestions on this set up

Thanks
JBoss
Old 03-25-2004, 01:19 PM
Joe Ford

Default RE: Watt Prop is Best

How many servos are you using with the Mini Telemaster? The Jeti 180's only rated for 3 servos. Also what brand 480 motor are you using and whats the voltage rating? 6v, 7.2v? I ran a # of setups thru motocalc and the highest amp draw I could come up with for your setup was 10A...thats why I asked about your servos/esc. Your esc can handle the amps being generated...but it may not be able to handle the # of servos youre using.
Old 03-25-2004, 03:13 PM
JBoss

Thanks for the reply.
It is a speed 480 race 7.2 volts. I propped down to a 8 by 4 from the LHS all they had and the ut out stopps but its a bit under powered.
I am starting to think that the sanyo 1700 AA cells I bought on closeout for a buck each may be the culprit. if its not a fresh charge there is no power but when put on the bench speed 400 dumper it will run almost 10 minutes before hitting 5-6 volts. fresh off the charger is a different story. Climbs right out before settling down.
What do you think