Community
Search
Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Electric 1/7th scale p38, need your expertise

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2005, 03:55 PM
fw190
My Feedback: (37)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Electric 1/7th scale p38, need your expertise

Hi All!

Well I am going forward and converting to an electric version of my P38. I want to use the best motor/battery combination to get the best performance. I am not an expert on electrics and I definetly need your advice if you have any.

Here are the specs and you can see the model at http://www.vicrc.com/my_p38.htm

This is an all composite aircraft 1/7th scale, 88" wing span, ~1000 square inch wing area, it uses the true naca airfoil used on the full size counterpart. I have successfully flown the gas powered version, next plan here is to build an electric version. I have already thought about how it will be made and what materials to use in fabrication. I make them myself so that is the easy part, the hard part is the motor/batter/prop that will yield the best performance.

The airframe, servos, retracts support will be around 10-14 lbs NOT including the batteries, motors and speed control. I don't know if I can use retractactable undercarriege so the weight is a big range. So lets target that at 14lbs without motor and batteries

I am hoping to get the p38 fling in the 90-100 mph range, Is this possible?? or am I dreaming??... If you think it is possible please advice me on the motor/battery/speed control combination that I can use!!!

Thanks for your help!

Vic
www.vicrc.com
Old 01-06-2005, 07:24 AM
Glacier Girl
My Feedback: (4)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Electric 1/7th scale p38, need your expertise