Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

brushless motor for greatplanes dc3

Old 09-07-2005, 11:05 AM
  #1  
mainblades50
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , OK
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default brushless motor for greatplanes dc3

What would be some good brushless motors for the great planes electric dc3?
Old 09-07-2005, 10:09 PM
  #2  
INeedHelp
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 504
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: brushless motor for greatplanes dc3

Direct drive or geared?
Old 09-08-2005, 07:05 AM
  #3  
mainblades50
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , OK
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: brushless motor for greatplanes dc3

The stock are direct drive. dont know if there would be enough room for the geared.
I might just end up selling the plane.
Old 09-08-2005, 11:12 PM
  #4  
INeedHelp
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 504
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: brushless motor for greatplanes dc3

Might give the the Feigao 12mm 4100kv a try.
Old 09-09-2005, 07:38 AM
  #5  
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)
 
Matt Kirsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spencerport, NY
Posts: 7,350
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: brushless motor for greatplanes dc3

4100Kv is way too hot for a direct drive application, and the 12mm Feiago motor is way too small to handle the power that DC3 needs anyway.

The DC3 is a Speed 400 powered, 3lb plane. A little heavy for direct-drive Speed 400, as you can only effectively fly about 18-20 ounces per Speed 400 motor in direct drive. Being a heavy-metal warbird style of plane doesn't help much, either. That adds in small wing area and high drag... It really needs about 300 Watts to fly well, 150 Watts per motor.

IMHO, a pair of AXi 2808/16 outrunners spinning 7x5, maybe 7x6, props on that 8-cell pack should fill the bill quite nicely. That's extrapolated from the performance numbers at www.modelmotors.cz, as the smallest prop they show in the chart is 8.5x5, and the power consumption is overkill.
Old 09-09-2005, 08:12 AM
  #6  
mainblades50
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: , OK
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: brushless motor for greatplanes dc3

Ok now the motors are in the picture. What about a speed contol that can handle both motors at one time or am i going to have to use 2 speed controls?
Old 09-09-2005, 05:44 PM
  #7  
INeedHelp
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 504
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: brushless motor for greatplanes dc3

Oops, what was I thinking. Must have been thinking about something else.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.