Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Power System for a 4 Engine Bomber

Old 09-25-2005, 12:55 PM
fockewulf37
My Feedback: (102)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Power System for a 4 Engine Bomber

Hello everyone,
I know I probably should do more research myself but I'll ask here anyway.
I have been flying a alfa model for about 6 months now and really like it. I have a Avro Lancaster kit that I have started but have not bought the engines for it. It calls for 4- 91 Four Stroke engines.
I am looking at about $1000 for all 4, Maybe a little more. I have even pondered over making it a Manchester and going with 2 gas engines.

Does anyone know what would be a good electric set up would be for a plane this size. 132" wing span and they say about 32lbs. I would like to be inexpensive as possible but realiable. and brushless motors. I was pricing a set up through Hobby Lobby and just off the web site I was looking at about $1500 or more... It has almost a flt bottm airfoil on it also..

Thanks in advance Ty
Old 09-27-2005, 03:34 PM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Power System for a 4 Engine Bomber

Unfortunately, there's no way to make your $1000 budget... Your least expensive setup will be four AXi 4130/16 motors, four Castle Creations Phoenix 60 controllers, and four 6S Kokam 3200 packs... It's going to run you about $300 per nacelle just for the motors and ESCs, then about $250 per nacelle for the batteries. This setup will easily do 3200 Watts, which is what you'll want for this plane.