Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Hacker newb questions

Old 05-22-2006, 08:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Hacker newb questions

I am installing a Hacker A20-20L and a Hacker X20 ESC on my new plane. I am new to electric motors, so I am bit confused.

I have read the hacker instructions to each of these and they really don't say much. Which wires from the motor go to which on the ESC? The only information about this I could find in the manual is that to reverse direction of the motor, you switch any two wires. This leads me to believe that it doesn't matter what order they go in????

Also, I attached this picture so you all can check out how I mounted the motor. I found little in the instructions so I just did what fit. Let me know if you see anything screwed up.

Thanks for the help!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Rp42413.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	47.7 KB
ID:	465310  
Old 05-22-2006, 09:33 PM

Default RE: Hacker newb questions

You are correct, you can plug in any of the three wires in any order and if the motor turns out to be spinning in the wrong direction then you simply switch two of the wires. I am not firmiliar with the plane but your motor mount looks good to go. Just make sure you have everything glued together good. Let me know if there is anything else I can help you with.
Old 05-22-2006, 09:47 PM
My Feedback: (18)

I have the same motor/esc combo. One thing I noticed is that when I had everything powered up while I setup the endpoints and expo, the ESC started to get pretty warm even though the motor wasn't running. Is this normal?
Old 05-22-2006, 10:32 PM

ORIGINAL: Devin McGrath
I am not firmiliar with the plane but your motor mount looks good to go. Just make sure you have everything glued together good. Let me know if there is anything else I can help you with.