Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives
Reload this Page >

How to put a prop on a brushless motor?? PLEASE HELP NEWBIE TO ELECTRICS

Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

How to put a prop on a brushless motor?? PLEASE HELP NEWBIE TO ELECTRICS

Old 09-30-2006, 05:31 PM
  #1  
sal2006
Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SydneyNSW, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 55
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to put a prop on a brushless motor?? PLEASE HELP NEWBIE TO ELECTRICS

Hi Guys,

I usually fly 100cc large scale aircraft and wanted to build a little extra I could fly in the park, I understand the concept and have everything right except for one thing. The motor mounting, and prop installation. There is a collar sitting at the end of the shaft at the front, do i take that off or is that supposed to fit through the hole in the engine mount boc, I also have a prop adapter here...please help, any pictures of setups or anyting would be great. here is a pic of the peop adapter i got with it[.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl28936.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	2.8 KB
ID:	532885  
Old 09-30-2006, 05:39 PM
  #2  
Walt Thyng
My Feedback: (9)
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: St. Charles, IL
Posts: 1,867
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to put a prop on a brushless motor?? PLEASE HELP NEWBIE TO ELECTRICS

I don't understand thecollar at the front of yor motor, but a collet type adaptor slides onto the motor shaft and can be adjusted to fit your installation within limits (you need enough shaft in th collet to ensure purchase).
Walt
Old 09-30-2006, 11:16 PM
  #3  
Fliprob17
Senior Member
 
Fliprob17's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
Posts: 1,590
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to put a prop on a brushless motor?? PLEASE HELP NEWBIE TO ELECTRICS

You should just have a bare shaft on your motor before installing the prop adapter. You should remove the metal spinner/nose cone from that prop adapter, then that collet at the back of the prop adapter should go on the motor shaft, then a metal ring that fits around it, then your prop, then the rest of the prop adapter and spinner/nose cone.
Old 10-03-2006, 08:07 PM
  #4  
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)
 
Matt Kirsch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Spencerport, NY
Posts: 7,350
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: How to put a prop on a brushless motor?? PLEASE HELP NEWBIE TO ELECTRICS

Many outrunner motors come with a collar that slides over the shaft on the "fixed" end of the motor. The reason for this collar is to reinforce the snap-ring that holds the shaft into the motor when you attach the propeller to the spinning can end of the motor. If you are attaching a prop adapter to the shaft protruding from the fixed end of the motor, then you can remove the collar.

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.