Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Please help gearbox problems

Old 10-14-2006, 07:40 PM
bur0011

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Please help gearbox problems

Hello,

I'm new at the BRUSHLESS CRAZE and i need some advice.
I brought a HIMARK B2520 4200kv brushless motor at an action and recently brought a gearbox with a 6:1 ratio to suit,

The hobbie store man gave me a APC 9x4.5 electirc prop and a APC 9x6 electric prop to suit, i insaled the 9x4.5 on it,

The problem is it does'nt seem to mesh right do you have any ideas ?

How much mesh shuold there be?

What kind of ESC and battery should i use?

do i soft or hard mount it?

appreciate any help,

please reply.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Us53054.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	30.4 KB
ID:	541145   Click image for larger version

Name:	Bw71410.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	42.7 KB
ID:	541146   Click image for larger version

Name:	Yd81662.jpg
Views:	4
Size:	64.6 KB
ID:	541147  
Old 10-15-2006, 07:48 PM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Default RE: Please help gearbox problems

What leads you to believe that the gears are not meshing properly? It doesn't look like the mesh is adjustable on that gearbox.

Do you have an idea for an airplane for this motor setup? Prop size and battery will depend on the power requirements of the airplane. You ought to be able to run up to a 12x6 prop with a 3-cell 11.1V LiPoly with this motor.

The square socket on the gearbox frame is meant for a "stick mount," a square piece of hardwood protruding from the airplane's firewall. It should be hard mounted, because electrics do not have the vibration of a reciporicating engine.
Old 10-15-2006, 10:35 PM
Dr Kiwi