Community
Search
Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Phoenix 35 toasted --- but why?

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2006, 01:54 AM
perreback

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Phoenix 35 toasted --- but why?

OK, I'm new to electrics, but I do know how to connect a lipo to a speed controller --- yet I managed to fry a Phoenix 35 last night. I have no idea how it could possibly happen.

Setup:

Hacker A30-16M
Phoenix 35
1800mAh lipo
APCE 11x5

Chain of events:

Finished my Mini Funtana last night. Connected battery, tried motor (which worked very well), centered all four servos. Disconnected battery, fixed receiver and speed controller in fuselage with hook and loop tape after checking CG. Connected battery again --- correctly --- and the speed controller short circuited on me. Sparks, smoke, extremely hot battery. Heat shrink tubing used everywhere it should be. What on earth happened here?
Old 10-28-2006, 08:03 PM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Default RE: Phoenix 35 toasted --- but why?

Good question. That kind of failure sounds like reversed polarity, but if you're 100% sure you didn't plug it in backwards...

I've blown a couple of ESCs, and the mode of failure usually involves the motor not starting when throttle is applied. Bugs in older versions of ESCs were causing the motors to not start.

Send the ESC in to Castle Creations with a note explaining the circumstances. They'll fix it or replace it for you.
Old 10-29-2006, 06:02 AM
perreback

Send the ESC in to Castle Creations with a note explaining the circumstances. They'll fix it or replace it for you.