Notices
Brushed/Brushless motors, speed controls, gear drives Discuss all aspects of brushless motors, brushed motors, speed controls (ESC's), gear drives and propellers in this forum.

Pushing the Limits?

Old 11-14-2006, 09:19 AM
aerofart

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Pushing the Limits?

Hope this is the right place to post this . . .

Let me preface this post by saying that I am a newbie to electric RC, and RC for that matter, but have learned a tremendous amount of information from these forums. I never realized it could be so complicated, but you guys really know what you're talking about and I appreciate having such a wonderful resource.

So here goes . . .

I am running a Ripmax XTRA 2829/13 Brushless Outrunner on my Sport Flyers WASP (great little stick, by the way). Ripmax specs recommend using 10x6 or 9x5 props with a 2-Cell pack, or a 10x4.7 using a 3-Cell pack with this motor, consuming a theoretical 7A (@6,100RPM), 11.5A(@8,500RPM) and 10.2A(@6,100RPM), respectively. I was using a 9x4.7 prop (as I recall - it may have been a 10x4.7) and a 2s1p pack with miserably poor results. The plane was barely getting off the ground, which, now that I know a little more about all this stuff, just doesn't seem right, considering that about 85 Watts of power were being applied (per Mfr specs) to move an 18-21oz load (don't know for sure, but using the model's specs as a baseline) - this should have been almost enough for vertical climb, no?

As if that isn't bewildering enough, I've been using a JETI 08 Advance Plus (8A) ESC all along - well under-rated in all but one case, according to Ripmax specs! Now, I would never have attempted using the different props had I known what I was doing and the risks involved, because now I see that the only safe prop to use with the 2829/13 would have been a 10x6, drawing 7A, comfortably within the limits of the ESC. Yet despite these abuses, I haven't fried anything. But wait, it gets better. . .